Hacking Help I think I bricked my flashcard

Rathalos143

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
82
Country
Well, first I'm new here so hi. Well I had a R4Igold 3DS 4.5 wich I used in my old DS Lite the first one, the one with the gba slot) Well as I tried to make Kirby Mass Attack run there, I noticed that it may be because the card was not updated so I came here: http://www.r4i-gold.eu/downloade.asp and downloaded both the latest kernel and he update. I runned the update and waited until it said I can turn off the DS. Then when I reseted it the flashcard had no icon and got stuck in a white screen. I tried to put the latest Kernel and nothing changed. Tried to format again and nothing changed. Tested 2 different microSD and nothing changed... I start to think I put an update which my flashcard isn´t compatible but now I can´t even load the Kernel...
Here you can see the card: http://www.r4i-gold.eu/aboute.asp mine is the second starting from the top, the 4.5 one.
 

Simiaraichu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2014
Messages
101
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
177
Country
Algeria
Hi,sry for the bad english and the dumb question,are you using it on your 3ds/new3ds?

If yes i think that your 3ds FW is just too high for your R4 even with the latest kernel,try using the flashcard on your old ds lite so we can know if you bricked the flashcrad (i wish that no) or it's the 3ds
 

Rathalos143

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
82
Country
Hi,sry for the bad english and the dumb question,are you using it on your 3ds/new3ds?

If yes i think that your 3ds FW is just too high for your R4 even with the latest kernel,try using the flashcard on your old ds lite so we can know if you bricked the flashcrad (i wish that no) or it's the 3ds
Oh no, I tried on it too but I just want to be able to use it on my old DS, 3DS is fully updated and I'm fine with that. But I want it on my old one. Also in both consoles happenned the same, just the card has no name and no icon and then it gets stuck in a white screen with no sound
 

DrunkenMonk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
510
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
1,584
Country
United Kingdom
Oh no, I tried on it too but I just want to be able to use it on my old DS, 3DS is fully updated and I'm fine with that. But I want it on my old one. Also in both consoles happenned the same, just the card has no name and no icon and then it gets stuck in a white screen with no sound

Your cart only supports 3ds version 4.5.0 or earlier, you need a new cart, or a hacked 3ds with the firm patches to whitelist the cart so it's usable again. If you tried to install the 7.1 update onto your 4.5 cart, and it attempted it, it probably broke something completely - so it won't work with your dsi/ds lite anymore either.
 
Last edited by DrunkenMonk,

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
8,034
Trophies
0
Location
Earth-chan
XP
5,234
Country
China
i heard about some cards got a "time bomb" try to set your 3ds clock to 2007.. not sure if that will make a difference..
 

Tomy Sakazaki

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2006
Messages
880
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
812
Country
Brazil
I dunno how OP can fix his card (AFAIK his card doesn't require a bootrom update to run on old DS, only to run on DSi/3DS, and I think that the update shouldn't had messed with the bootrom for DS mode), but to inform those who are willing to help, it seems that OP is trying to run the flashcard in a DS system, not a 3DS variant.
 

DrunkenMonk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
510
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
1,584
Country
United Kingdom
I dunno how OP can fix his card (AFAIK his card doesn't require a bootrom update to run on old DS, only to run on DSi/3DS, and I think that the update shouldn't had messed with the bootrom for DS mode), but to inform those who are willing to help, it seems that OP is trying to run the flashcard in a DS system, not a 3DS variant.

Yeah, I mentioned that to run it on a 3ds he'd need a hacked 3ds, and if he updated his 4.5 card using the 7.1 update and it actually updated(normally they have a check in-place on the update software, but maybe they didn't), then it won't work on his old DS either and it is broken/bricked
 

Rathalos143

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
82
Country
Yeah, I mentioned that to run it on a 3ds he'd need a hacked 3ds, and if he updated his 4.5 card using the 7.1 update and it actually updated(normally they have a check in-place on the update software, but maybe they didn't), then it won't work on his old DS either and it is broken/bricked
Sooo I need a new card which will work in a older model because I updated my old card so much it won´t work on a older model but it will in a newer one? That´s weird.
Tl;dr: I need a new card right? can you suggest a good one?
 

GothicIII

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
809
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,792
Country
Gambia, The
The best and most expensive (40€) card which is supported for all consoles is the DSTwo. It has a custom cpu which helps in emulating gba/snes games. Downside: the cpu consumes power and battery lifetime will decrease to around 90%.

But you can buy any flashcard for your ds. They will work all but I don't recommend a R4 since they will "brick" after a year or so. (There is a timebomb in the kernel. If it's not updated the card stops working)

Flashcards start at 8€.
 

Rathalos143

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
82
Country
The best and most expensive (40€) card which is supported for all consoles is the DSTwo. It has a custom cpu which helps in emulating gba/snes games. Downside: the cpu consumes power and battery lifetime will decrease to around 90%.

But you can buy any flashcard for your ds. They will work all but I don't recommend a R4 since they will "brick" after a year or so. (There is a timebomb in the kernel. If it's not updated the card stops working)

Flashcards start at 8€.
Oh well, this flashcard had more than a year and it started to work a bit weird. In fact, I was able to run Kirby Mass Attack at first, but then it suddenly stopped working. Do you know about a good one cheaper than the DSTwo which will not break itself? 8€ sounds great but does all have the same quality?
 
Last edited by Rathalos143,

GothicIII

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
809
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,792
Country
Gambia, The
If quality is what you want you will have a hard time finding a flashcard that meets this criteria.
They are all cheaply build and can break any time. Even the dstwo does not eject like a normal ds card do 'cause of the poorly made plastic form.

Just find a card where the wood kernel works and you are good to go. :)
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @The Real Jdbye, Had this one kid at my school who was always fascinated with Rubik cubes.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    They used to look up videos as well as use one of those sites which first you input the pattern on what you are stuck on and it will tell you the instructions on how to solve it.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it was the username of my first dialup connection which my dad signed me up for
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i didnt even pick it but i have never come up with anything better
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Interesting
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    The smaller Rubik cubes are easier to solve at first.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    But not the ones with lots of cubes.
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    I have a hard time solving minecraft because of all the cubes.
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    you would think so, i thought a 2x2 would be easy, it really wasn't
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    could never get the last corner
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Dang
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Then it must be difficult then.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    from what i heard the technique is the same regardless of size so if you know how to solve one size, then you know how to solve them all
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I was only theorizing about whether this was the case.
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    3x3 is super easy with an algorithm - have heard it's true for all sizes but never tried bigger
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's what she said amirite
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    But really, there's a website that lets you solve it fairly easy.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    This is the one in particular ^^
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i don't really care :P
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's fair enough, you don't have to visit it if you're good at doing it.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i'm not
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Me neither
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: :P