Help getting certain GBC/GBA games to work

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by startrekismylife, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. startrekismylife
    OP

    Newcomer startrekismylife Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I just got a new ds lite and a M3DS Real with the GBA Expansion Pack.

    I have Sakura v1.48 with Touchpod and i've had no problems loading DS games...BUT i am having a hell of a time getting some GBA/GBC/GB games to work.

    I know i can't load GBC games in Sakura at all, so i tried loading Crystalis (GBC) in Touchpod. I got this message: "CRYSTALIS. This game pak will only work with Game Boy Color Video Game System" This is one of the games that i bought the expansion pack for and i can't even get it to work [​IMG]

    When i try to load the Classic NES version of Super Mario Bros 1 (GBA) in Touchpod AND Sakura, i get this message: "Game Pak Error. Turn The Power Off." I think i read another post somewhere that said something about the Classic NES series not working, but has anyone been able to get it to work? I also tried the Classic NES Castlevania and the same thing just happened.

    Also, i know that Touchpad will play NES games, But the GBA versions of NES games are scaled for the small screen and look better on a handheld system. [​IMG]

    Would getting a different Slot 2 flashcard make a difference? Perhaps one of the ones that has an SD Card slot in it?

    Any help would be appreciated!
     
  2. naved.islam14

    Member naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knight™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Gotham
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    Just google it.
     
  3. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,918
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    RE:GBC- are you using an emulator or just loading it from teh kernal menu?

    With the GBA, I can't really answer. I don't use an M3 myself.
     
  4. startrekismylife
    OP

    Newcomer startrekismylife Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just loading GB/GBC/GBA games directly from touchpod. I don't believe it is emulated. I think it just runs like normal games do, since it is a slot 2 device as well. I was just wondering if the slot 2 devices that have sd card slots would be more compatible. I'm also having a little trouble with saving GBA/GBC/GB games (i've read up on this and i think i have it worked out) but i was wondering if the saves are more reliable with the sd card type devices?

    Also, i did "google it", thank you very much. I could find no real answers, even after looking for hours. All the information i found did not directly answer my question, which is why i created an account to get answers here. I figured there are some pretty experienced people on this board and maybe one of them might be able to help me out instead of just trying to make a newcomer feel like a dumbass.
     
  5. Prince Valmont

    Member Prince Valmont GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    From what I've read. The Classic NES series for the GBA have been causing problems for many of the handheld emulators.

    My recommendation is to use NesDS for each of the Classic NES titles (or use Moonshell! Just found out they can run .nes files). And for the GB/GBC games, there's always Lameboy. The latest build can let you stretch the screen, and it's pretty handsome.

    Hope this is helpful!
     

Share This Page