Help: Emulating PS2 on PCSX2 0.9.7: Black Screen

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by MissingNo._, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Almost everytime I press X, the screen freezes and then turns black. My PC notifies me of a GFX card error that it recovered from.
    This only happens in some areas of games, such as when I get to choose a track in Gran Turismo 3 A-Spec and choosing NEW GAME in Kingdom Hearts.

    Can anyone help me with this?

    EDIT: Changing the plugin's settings to the newest DirectX in software mode fixed this. Cutscenes run at full speed with short, random slow downs. In game is a bit slow.
    EDIT 2: For now I'll play it in software, but can someone help me get hardware to work? It's faster.
    EDIT 3: System specs;
    Manufaturer: TOSHIBA
    Model: Stellite L355
    Processor: INtel Pentium Dual CPU T3400 @ 2.16GHz 2.17GHz
    RAM: 3.00 GB
    System type: 32-bit Operating System
     
  2. Kayot

    Member Kayot GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    You may want to ask on their forum. I've never got it to render as fast as the console. I think computers are about 3 years behind were they need to be to emulate that platform. Same for Wii games on the PC, all but the simplest have lag. GC games run fine.

    Basic Specs:
    AMD 9550 Quad-Core
    4GB Ram
    9800 1GB DDR3
    1TB 7600RPM HD
     
  3. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    That's because your AMD Phenom 9550 is a Phenom I, those were really bad.^
     
  4. Kayot

    Member Kayot GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think the Main Board processor is the main problem in this case. It's more on the graphics card.
     
  5. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Possibly. Remember that it happens when doing certain things in the menus of games.
     

Share This Page