Help double-check my computer build please.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by DeMoN, Jan 13, 2011.

Jan 13, 2011
  1. DeMoN
    OP

Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

United States
    Just got a job, this will be the result of two weeks worth of work. Subtotal is around $1550, but tax and shipping make it over $1700.

Basically, I just want anyone to double-check if I'm missing anything important (I already have a mouse and keyboard), or if any of my items are incompatible with one another. I'm new to this whole build-your-own computer thing, but I recently got a job and this is what I'm buying with my first paycheck. Also, I need to know what cables to buy, if needed. I have one HDMI male/male cable and that's pretty much it. I'm mostly concerned about what I need to connect the SSD to my motherboard, because the SSD doesn't seem to come with anything.

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWi...Number=19101567

Also, I really want to order this tonight, so hopefully it will arrive before the weekend.

Edit: updated. Check my Gamefaqs topic for more info. http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/916373-pc/57791481

2. Ritsuki

Member Ritsuki ORAORAORAORA

Switzerland
    Everything looks right for me.

If you're interested, you can check for a different build here : http://www.hardware-revolution.com/mainstream-gaming-pc/

Someone already posted this link in another topic, but I can't remember who and where.

EDIT : Just checked your GameFAQs topic, and I suggest you to read a few articles on Hardware-Revolution website in order to help you :

About HDDs : http://www.hardware-revolution.com/best-ha...-december-2010/
    By the way, you connect the SSD drive with a SATA cable, the same one you use for a classic HDD

For the CPU, RAM and GPU choice, check the first one.

EDIT2 : And if you're planning to do some overclocking, you should take another case with better cooling options and a CPU fan.

3. Originality

Member Originality Chibi-neko