HELP: Another Dios Mios post (hear me out)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by PhilOnGames, Mar 4, 2014.

  1. PhilOnGames
    OP

    PhilOnGames Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Mar 3, 2014
    United States
    Wills Point, Texas
    HELP! I've tried updating everything that I'm aware of from browsing this subject, and am not making any progress. I've been digging for a couple of weeks now, and am totally stumped. I haven't been able to find a thread with my specific sequence and outcome of events, so I'm posting this. Advice appreciated.

    PROBLEM:

    Wii will not play GameCube games via latest Wiiflow with DM 2.10 and a USB drive. Wii games work perfectly. I can see my Gamecube library and select titles in Wiiflow, but when I go to play a title, the Wii will either freeze on black screen upon attempting to load, or Wiiflow will reload.

    SETUP/FIX ATTEMPTS:
    • My launcher is pointed to Auto Mios.
    • My USB drive is formatted to FAT32 with 32k clusters.
    • Games were added via DM Toolbox, setting to 32k clusters and optimized.
    • Games partition on USB is /games, with each game in subfolder per DM Toolbox output.
    • I've deleted the Wiiflow config file to start fresh upon next boot.
    ********************FIXED**********************
    • Ditched USB, switched to DML and and SD card for loading... FIXED!

    QUESTIONS:
    1. I do notice that when I install Dios Mios, there is no application launcher that is installed in homebrew apps, or anywhere else for that matter. But the option to view the gamecube game library appears in Wiiflow after running the Dios Mios installation. Is this behavior as intended?
    ANSWER: THIS IS NORMAL.
    1. Also, when I load into the gamecube library in Wiiflow, text briefly appears in the top right corner of the screen that says something like "DML" followed by the number of titles in the gamecube library. Even though I have installed DM 2.10, is it possible that an older version of Dios Mios lite that I installed back when I was attempting to play off of an SD card is still being referenced?
    ANSWER: ???
    SYSCHECK INFO:

    sysCheck v2.1.0b13 by Double_A and R2-D2199
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.3U (v513)
    Priilaoder installed
    Homebrew Channel 1.0.0 running on IOS0
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: 43150516
    Boot2 v4
    Found 188 titles.
    Found 49 IOS on this console. 7 of them are stub.

    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 54321): Trucha BugES IdentifyFlash AccessNAND Access
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 54321): Trucha BugES IdentifyNAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 3867): No Patches
    IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5406): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS80 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS202[57] (rev 65535Info: hermes-v5.0): Trucha BugNAND AccessUSB 2.0
    IOS222[38] (rev 4Info: hermes-v4.0): Trucha BugES IdentifyNAND AccessUSB 2.0
    IOS223[38] (rev 4Info: hermes-v4.0): Trucha BugES IdentifyNAND AccessUSB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 54321): Trucha BugES IdentifyNAND Access
    IOS247[56] (rev 21006Info: d2x-v6): Trucha BugNAND AccessUSB 2.0
    IOS248[56] (rev 21006Info: d2x-v6): Trucha BugNAND AccessUSB 2.0
    IOS249[56] (rev 21006Info: d2x-v6): Trucha BugNAND AccessUSB 2.0
    IOS250[37] (rev 21006Info: d2x-v6): Trucha BugNAND AccessUSB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10
     
  2. Yepi69

    Yepi69 Vivid and busy gamer

    Member
    2,422
    1,022
    Nov 29, 2010
    Portugal
    Behind you
    Is your USB drive formatted to FAT32 with 32K clusters?
    Were your games added using DM Toolbox?
    Do you have a games folder on the root of your USB drive?

    EDIT: Also I recommend you install the latest Dios Mios version v2.10
     
    PhilOnGames likes this.
  3. PhilOnGames
    OP

    PhilOnGames Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Mar 3, 2014
    United States
    Wills Point, Texas

    My USB drive is formatted to FAT32 with 32k clusters.
    Games were added by dragging full size iso's into /games/<game title> folder/. Didn't use DM Toolbox. I know the iso's are good from using them on Dolphin.

    I'll try the 2.10 install. Thanks for the link; I'll let you know how it goes.
     
  4. BlackWizzard17

    BlackWizzard17 Don't worry Captin we'll buff out those scratches.

    Member
    1,165
    423
    Dec 1, 2012
    United States
    E-Arth
    You have to use DM ToolBox or a similar program
    Make sure it's dios mios and not dios mios lite
    Use other USBloader's
     
    PhilOnGames likes this.
  5. Doux91

    Doux91 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    128
    11
    Feb 23, 2014
    true you should use dmtool box for add your games, specially in games of 2 disc like resident evil 0, 1, CV, 4, metal gear, killer 7, i use DM lite 1.6 with Dios Mios Booter and it ran all the game i tested, eso te recomiendo :)
     
    PhilOnGames likes this.
  6. PhilOnGames
    OP

    PhilOnGames Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Mar 3, 2014
    United States
    Wills Point, Texas

    UPDATE: I reformatted my USB drive to make sure it was set to 32k clusters, installed DM 2.10, and added games via DM Toolbox set at optimized and 32k clusters. Still same issue.

    I do notice that when I install Dios Mios, there is no application launcher that is installed in homebrew apps, or anywhere else for that matter. But the option to view the gamecube game library appears in Wiiflow after running the Dios Mios installation. Is this behavior as intended?

    Also, when I load into the gamecube library in Wiiflow, text briefly appears in the top right corner of the screen that says something like "DML" followed by the number of titles in the gamecube library. Even though I have installed DM 2.10, is it possible that an older version of Dios Mios lite that I installed back when I was attempting to play off of an SD card is still being referenced?
     
  7. PhilOnGames
    OP

    PhilOnGames Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Mar 3, 2014
    United States
    Wills Point, Texas
    FYI - I just added more info and a syscheck info dump to my original post in an attempt to keep all my info and fix attempts clear to help solve the problem with minimal confusion.
     
  8. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,308
    8,768
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Which size is your HDD?
    You know DIOS MIOS is not compatible with Advanced Format (4096 bytes per sectors).
    So, it will not work if :
    - Your drive is bigger than 2TB
    - Your drive is 2TB or less, but manufactured with Advanced format (which is the case for most new drives).

    I don't know if Wiiflow is checking the sector size, but USBLoaderGX (r1218) should tell you if your drive is incompatible.


    The DIOS MIOS (Lite) Wad file is installing a system file, not a homebrew or a channel, so it's the normal behavior that you don't see any visual changes.
    The USBLoaders are detecting the installed MIOS automatically.
    Just know that you can only have one MIOS at a time. If you install DIOS MIOS Lite, it will replace DIOS MIOS. Same for the version, if you install 2.10, it will replace the previous version, etc.
     
    PhilOnGames likes this.
  9. Doux91

    Doux91 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    128
    11
    Feb 23, 2014
    you just can install Dios Mios Lite or Dios Mios, Dios Mios(USB) and lite(SD), lots got problems running game by usb then you should use DML, the game you are running is? listen not all the games run with those MIOS, check the compatibility list if your game can run or cant, try with the same things like me
    Dios Mios Booter - Loader
    Dios Mios Lite 2.6 or newer sorry if i said 1.6 i was wrong
    wiiflow cant run the MIOS then i recomend you Dios Mios Booter as Loader, i use wiiflow for all my wii games but i dont like use it for gamecube games, wiiflow shows me wrong the names and if you are using an older version it wont run any game all i can say for help you is:
    -align - auto (dont use cluster 32 or 64)
    -optimised
    -the iso should be in a folder ("GALP01" the name of the folder should be an ID of a game) and the iso should be named "game" and you should put it in the folder "games" in the USB/SD o sea :) SD:/games
    if you want i can upload both things MIOS and Loader i use. if the game doesnt run, that means the game cant run then you should wait for a new version or you should use DiscEX for add your games
     
    PhilOnGames likes this.
  10. duffmmann

    duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,709
    1,520
    Mar 11, 2009
    United States
    What is your model of HDD? In very few instances this (or even just the cord type connecting it to the Wii) can be the issue. Was for me with a Seagate Goflex 1 TB model. The usb 3.0/2.0 cord wouldn't work for Dios Mios, but worked for everything else. Managed to get a strictly usb 2.0 cable for the drive, and for whatever reason, this made all the difference and Dios Mios worked. This isn't to say usb 3.0/2.0 cables don't work as they certainly do (I have a newer HDD with such a cable and it works without issue).
     
    PhilOnGames likes this.
  11. PhilOnGames
    OP

    PhilOnGames Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Mar 3, 2014
    United States
    Wills Point, Texas
    What an odd issue! It's an older 500gig external Western Digital. Works fine for everything, so I really don't think it's the drive. I'll try the cable switch though!
     
  12. PhilOnGames
    OP

    PhilOnGames Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Mar 3, 2014
    United States
    Wills Point, Texas
    I checked against the compatibility list and the games I'm trying work. I know the iso's work from running them in Dolphin. I want to use the USB drive, not SD, for my gamecube games for storage capacity reasons. The last version of Dios Mios I installed was 2.10. I haven't tried the Dios Mios Booter, so I'll give that a shot. If that doesn't work, I'll take you up on your offer for the MIOS. Thanks!
     
  13. Doux91

    Doux91 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    128
    11
    Feb 23, 2014
    i told you Dios Mios got bugs when you run the games by usb thats why i use DML and i have my games in SD, try at least run the game by SD with DML and try Dios Mios Booter and sorry i wasted my english and i couldnt help you more :)
     
    PhilOnGames likes this.
  14. PhilOnGames
    OP

    PhilOnGames Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Mar 3, 2014
    United States
    Wills Point, Texas
    Problem fixed! Sort of... thank you for recommending I ditch the USB and go with DML and my SD card. Finally got it working. Thank you everyone!!!!!!
     
  15. Doux91

    Doux91 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    128
    11
    Feb 23, 2014
    como dicen ustedes God dammit i told you Dios Mios Couldnt work fine, ... bueno te lo dije con un demonio :( y mas :( ... thats all at least i feel better now :)
     
  16. PhilOnGames
    OP

    PhilOnGames Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Mar 3, 2014
    United States
    Wills Point, Texas
    Doux91, calm down. I thanked everyone for their help, which included you. I really appreciated the tip. Sorry if you misunderstood.
     
  17. Doux91

    Doux91 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    128
    11
    Feb 23, 2014
    its ok just i told try with DML but you didnt want and continue asking and i told you i feel better now, como se dice... i let it go out... creo que asi se dice ... :) well :) and if you want some pal games like resident evil CV, 0, and 1 you must have ... im not sure how you can call it, video by component... RGB i think, because you cant force all the pal games to NTSC :gun::whip: :) luck
     
    PhilOnGames likes this.