HDLoader or HDAdvance?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by ChaosBoi, Jun 23, 2009.

Jun 23, 2009

HDLoader or HDAdvance? by ChaosBoi at 6:48 AM (657 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. ChaosBoi
    OP

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,327
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Although I've been using ESR pretty much for all of my backups, it's hindering my enjoyment of .hack//GU since the cutscenes are stuttering horribly. And yes, I'm pretty sure it isn't my PS2 or the DVD drive, since my legit copies of other games runs smoothly without any hiccups during fmvs. I've also burned the game on to 3 different dvd-r brands (Sony, HP, and Memorex) at both 2x and 3x, and they all yielded the same results. So in order for me to enjoy the game without being annoyed at the constant stuttering, I've decided to try an HDD solution for the game. What would you guys recommend: HDLoader or HDAdvance?
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Uh...HDLoader, which HDAdvance ripped off. HDLoader is also free and has better compatibility since it's still being updated...somewhat.
     
  3. Finishoff

    Member Finishoff GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    United States
    USB Advance has compatibility issues, sometimes buggy during game play and sometimes slower then the disc loading itself. HDLoader is way better, but it'll only work with a hard drive and a fat PS2, the one with the network adapter, unless your good at soldering a IDE cable you can use HDLoader on a slim.
     
  4. ChaosBoi
    OP

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,327
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I have the regular model along with a network adapter. Anyway, I've decided to go with HDLoader but I have a question.

    Is it possible to format only a partition of the drive? I looked at a program called Winhiip but it only seems to let me format the entire drive 2 and not a partition. The reason why I'm asking is because the IDE HDD is also used for the Wii's USB Backup Launcher (I use an IDE to USB 2.0 Cable to convert it to a USB Hard Drive), and I don't want to lose any of the Wii games on it.
     

Share This Page