HBC not loading any apps

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CrackedOutKid, Nov 12, 2009.

Nov 12, 2009

HBC not loading any apps by CrackedOutKid at 3:30 AM (1,024 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. CrackedOutKid
    OP

    Newcomer CrackedOutKid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I was attempting to upgrade my softmodded Wii from 4.1 to 4.2 using this guide Complete Upgrading Guide from 4.1 to 4.2 and when I tried installing the IOS files through WadManager I received error #1017 for the majority of the files. So I went here WiiHacks Error Index and tried to solve the problem by installing a new IOS249, but that didn't work so I tried the altenative method which is this Alternative Method. When I got to step three "Run Trucha Bug Restorer again, this time using d-pad left/right to change the IOS, load IOS15 on first screen, select the IOS36 menu & install patched (select 'yes' on all 3 patches) IOS36 to slot 36, again using IOS from SD card." I received an error message stating that IOS36 could not be patched because it is a newer version. I then closed the program, restarted my Wii and booted it up to have a nice surprise, no unofficial channels work (Neogamma R7, Backup Launcher, WadManager etc...) and no apps except the Trucha Bug Restorer and cIOS38Rev14 Installer will load from my SD card through the HBC. The only programs that do work are channels like the internet browser and the weather channel, and virtual console games that I downloaded. Also the disc channel cannot play my official games, it says that I need to update the sytem which is wierd.


    Any help would be massively appreciated even if it is telling me that I now own a worthless brick.
     
  2. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    user bannerbomb to run any prog u want, to fix this issue.

    Wynd
     
  3. CrackedOutKid
    OP

    Newcomer CrackedOutKid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't Bannerbomb only let you install the HBC and then run apps from that? The HBC doesn't allow me to run any apps except for the few exceptions I listed above. How can I run single programs with Bannerbomb? Thanks for the reply btw.
     
  4. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Put the Loadmii boot.dol on the root of your SD Card and then use Loadmii to load any app.
     
  5. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    you can use bannerbomb to run any app as long as you name it boot.dol and have it on the root of your sd card

    hackmii installer is an app after all
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    there is a trucha bug restorer (TBR) 1.0 and a TBR 1.1

    TBR 1.0 is for 4.1 and below wiis
    TBR 1.1 is for 4.2 wii's

    each version requires different wads to be saved in the root directory of your sd card

    get the right TBR for your firmware, then read the read me and download the required wads via nus downloader

    that should patch IOS36, and from there, reinstall ios249, then do w/e u need 2 do
     
  7. CrackedOutKid
    OP

    Newcomer CrackedOutKid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, thanks for the help guys.
     

Share This Page