Having trouble getting GPSP working

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by shadow theory, Jan 18, 2011.

Jan 18, 2011
  1. shadow theory
    OP

    Member shadow theory GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    I did a search through google as well as on this site and couldn't find an answer that ended up helping me out.

    I have a slim PSP running cfw 5.00 m33-6 and I was trying to run GPSP, I've tried both the latest UO Kai build as well as GPSP-J. I have used two different bios files, just to try to see if that was the issue.

    Whenever I try to load up any game the screen goes white and the PSP freezes (and often shuts off). I was wondering what steps I could take to fix it.

    This is my first foray into using emulators on a handheld--so please pardon my ignorance!
     
  2. alkahest

    Member alkahest GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    United States
    i used the gpsp on wololo.net essentials homebrews .
     
  3. shadow theory
    OP

    Member shadow theory GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    I've had the same error with two different GPSP's that I obtained from two different places. I'll give the one on that site a try later, but I'm starting to conclude that it isn't the program itself, but some issue with how it is configured (or perhaps an incompatibility with my firmware? do I need the kernel update?)
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Is gba_bios.bin in the same folder as EBOOT.PBP?
     
  5. shadow theory
    OP

    Member shadow theory GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, the bios is in the same folder.

    EDIT:
    I just tried a different game and it loaded. So now I'm wondering if by some very bad luck the first four games I was using to test it were all games that gave the emulator problems. Is there a place I can find a compatibility list that is rather recent? (I've found a bunch that are three or so years old).
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What region BIOS?
    What games?
     
  7. shadow theory
    OP

    Member shadow theory GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    NTSC bios. Should I use another one?
    I'm thinking the game I had at first was a bad dump, as the second time around with a new file that game ran too. (The original dump had worked for me in other emulators).

    Anyway I've got it working and I want to thank you two for answering my call for help.
     

Share This Page