Have a few Qs

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by afif95, Nov 27, 2008.

Nov 27, 2008

Have a few Qs by afif95 at 2:09 AM (845 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    First, this is what I have in Wii now:
    1)HBC beta9
    2)WAD Manager
    3)Gecko OS
    4)cIOS uninstaller (I do not know what to do with it)
    5)ftpii
    5)Some kind of modchip (the guy who sold it to me had it installed for me, but I don't know what brand)
    6)Firmware 3.2U (But it WAS a Japanese Wii. Modded to make it English (NTSC-U) )
    7)IOS36 (Read from HBC)

    I guess that's it, now I have tis questions:
    1)How do I make my Wii brick-proof?
    (Given that I don't have TP or a Gamecube Controller)
    2)I have this problem when I tried to install a WAD, no make that two. It showed me this error
    ret = -1029. Then I tried with another WAD, it's still the same problem. So what do I do?

    I ran the Wad Manager and it said that "cIOS found" and something.

    And I do not know what that guy installed to my Ninty Wii when I bought it from him. And I bought it just a few weeks ago.

    And thanks in advance.
     
  2. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Try going through the steps in the guide in my sig. Specifically the cios_fix and the ios downgrade. That is my best guess [​IMG]

    Install starfall and gamma channel if you want.
     
  3. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    @ EoC

    why don't you tell the people to install the latest cIOS36_r7 instead of the cIOS_fix, wich is the r5 fixed by ppc_gba????
     
  4. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Is it this one?
    "+Load Custom WM in Homebrew Channel and install cios_fix.wad
    You cannot install this wad with Wad Manager. This is a custom wad manager designed to work for IOS16.

    +Load IOS Downgrader in Homebrew Channel. Just follow any prompts until it tells you it is complete.
    **Note: This is NOT the same as the cIOS downgrader. The cIOS downgrader allows you to upgrade or downgrade to the ideal firmware
    version which is 3.2. The reason 3.2 is so popular is partially because versions after this one had the Trucha bug fixed, and almost
    as importantly ver 3.2 is required to run Starfall. Starfall is important because it is at this time one of the only ways to fix a
    partially bricked Wii. It is also handy for skipping disk updates.
    "


    And what must I remove (In case if that thing needs user prompt)?
    Final question, is this noob-proof? lol
     
  5. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Kay, i tried to install the cios_fix.wad using custom WM (didn't run the IOS36) and got:
    ret = -1035, any help?
     
  6. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    you have to install IOS16 first with the normal Wad Manager, then use the Custom Wad Manager to install cIOS_fix
     
  7. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Just as it said in the guide >.
     

Share This Page