1. bjaxx87

    bjaxx87 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    Germany
    @godreborn None at all, actually. All my games are stored on the internal HDD.
     
  2. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't messed with my snes classic in over a year. Any significant changes or updates with this?
     
  3. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,346
    Country:
    United States
    the main problem I've encountered is c8 errors or c7 if retroarch is screwed up. both of these are on the snes classic. I guess it's due to the otg adapter supplying power to both the unit and a flash drive. it's somewhat unstable, but it doesn't crash while in game or at least it never has on me.
     
  4. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    I just updated to the newest hakchi CE and now when I turn it on the screen hangs something called game title. No games load at all.

    If I unplug my usb drive and just turn it on normally the stock games do load. I was hoping to throw that new homebrew remake of Super Mario Land on my classic and give it a go.
     
  5. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,346
    Country:
    United States
    I think you can do that if you don't choose a usb flash stick. that's where all my problems arise anyway. the system can't use much longer of a cable, not to mention power the usb flash device and the system itself. that's why I think it's unstable.
     
  6. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    To clarify I had the OTG setup working previously. I hadn't messed with this in over a year so I updated it and now I seem to have this problem with games on the USB drive not loading after I get past the hakchi splash screen :/
     
  7. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,346
    Country:
    United States
    if you get kicked back to the games' list, the emulator the games are using may not be installed. I know hakchi ce can do this, but regular hakchi doesn't seem to have the option, unless you do it via a command line. I only have issues like this with the snes classic. I've never had any error with the nes classic. the entire no intro set for the nes can fit on internal flash, but snes requires a usb flash drive if you want the snes no intro set. I even threw trials of mana on there. it works with the snes 9x 2010 emulator, not the official canoe one. I think you get a black screen otherwise.
     
  8. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't even kick me back anywhere, it just loads but there are no games present. Kinda wish I stayed on the previous version of hakchi ce since it was working just fine.

    For good measure I did uninstall and reinstall the cores I was using too.
     
  9. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,346
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure what's happening. I've had a few instances where only the original games' list appeared. I don't know if this will have any bearing, but you can disable showing thumbnails (the images at the bottom of the screen). I think that's using the small.png files. I resized everything on my system. there's nearly 0 risk in trying new things. your classic's nand dump will get you back to the original state, and even if you don't have it or lose it, you can use someone else's. that's actually what I had to do with one of the classics. the original nand dumps are the same for all systems.
     
  10. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    I do have a backup of my classic's NAND
     
  11. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    Seems I was able to fix some of this. I forgot to export the games and now the snes games on my USB drive can be loaded again.

    However, any saves I had and attempts at new quick saves seem to give me a C7 error.

    Tried loading a GBA game and it froze the system too, but hey it seems some progress has been made on fixing this.
     
  12. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,346
    Country:
    United States
    I only put the nes no intro set on the nes classic and the snes one on the snes classic. that's a lot of games, but the nes classic can fit all of them in the internal memory. the snes one can't. as far as other systems, you'll probably need to download their retroarch cores if you have done it already. and check back for the main core.
     
  13. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    I uninstalled and reinstalled them last night but maybe I need to do that after exporting to USB?
     
  14. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,346
    Country:
    United States
    exporting the games doesn't require your nes/snes classic to be connected to the pc. as per my experience, the problem is usually the emulator core you're trying to use is missing. I know you can easily change the core with each game using with hakchi 2 ce, but normal hakchi doesn't seem to have this option.
     
  15. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    Uninstalling and reinstalling the modules did seem to fix some issues but I still get freezing when trying to use the quick save feature.

    I'm starting to think a fresh start may be the best way to go with this.
     
  16. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,346
    Country:
    United States
    hmm, I'm not sure. I have encountered c7 and 8 errors as well as getting kicked back to the home screen. I've never encountered freezing.
     
  17. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't straight up freeze, the music still plays and the wings are still animated for the quick save file that I'm attempting to create.

    The controller just doesn't respond.

    If I backup the games and saves folders, will the saves still work after I do a factory reset, re-mod the console, and reinstall all of the modules?
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  18. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,346
    Country:
    United States
    I have seen the system not work with the controller before, whenever I use an extension cable and plug it in the cable after powering on.
     
  19. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    So I decided to do a factory reset and installed a few GBA roms after basically starting from scratch. Still experiencing the same issues. I'm thinking that hackhi CE 3.60 is the culprit now and that I should roll back to a previous version.

    For good measure, I did try the regular wired controller too since I normally use a wireless 8bitdo one with my classic. Same thing happens.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2019
  20. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,346
    Country:
    United States
    I've managed to fix every error with the snes classic. here's what I posted on psx place: Snes Classic Power Cable

    not a single error since then, and I play the snes classic daily. oh, one more thing, I have games sorted to 25 per folder with about 30 folders. that might help also with any errors you're having. I've heard 30 is the most you should have for stability reasons, but 25 might be better as it's working well for me.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - hakchi2, simple,