Graphics card

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by westarrr, Jul 26, 2010.

Jul 26, 2010

Graphics card by westarrr at 3:15 PM (1,877 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. westarrr
    OP

    Member westarrr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey, im gonna buy either a new desktop or laptop...
    Got 2 Graphix card..
    Which is better for gaming??

    a ATI Radeon Mobility HD5470(laptop)
    or Nvidia GeForce G310(desktop)

    Why is it better??
    Please i need a clear answer BEFORE saturday 31th

    EDIT: or is there a better graphix card for gaming, thats just as cheap
     


  2. westarrr
    OP

    Member westarrr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    Netherlands
    btw, is there any diffirence with a card that runs on a laptop or desktop, when theyre the same...
    because i went looking at some sites and the one gives better results as the other
     
  3. I2aven's_Sag

    Member I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    What's your price range? The G310 isn't the best of cards...That being said, desktop graphics are almost always better than laptop graphics because of heating/thermal concerns. a GTX 480M is pretty much equivalent to a 5770 ($500 laptop card vs $150 desktop card). That goes to show you the structural differences...

    Just looked @ newegg, the only listing I see is for a G310M, when I looked at the desktop listings the 3 PC's were all around or over $1000 USD. If that's around your price range, then you should really try to find an affordable desktop with a 5770 card, these have gotten good reviews and perform quite well. The other option is to build your own PC, which does indeed save money...

    Neither of the two cards you listed were 'good' cards, but the 5470 has stronger gaming potential. Notebook review shows that the G310M is a class 3 card, whereas the 5470 is a low-end class 2 card; there really doesn't seem to be a lot of difference between them.

    Code:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883241024
    3.2 Quad Core / 6GB DDR2 / 1TB HDD / ATI 4650 1GB $710+$20 Shipping.
    Depending on your usage this should work for multimedia, light-medium gaming, office-computer intensive work ; ) $709+$20 Shipping. (note USD prices).

    Code:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883227274
    2.9 Quad Core / 4GB DDR3 / 500 GB HDD / ATI 5770 $
    (doesn't ship till 08/03) If you do any sort of gaming this is the best choice for your price-range (as far as pre-built systems go), but I do remember that you said you needed the desktop rather soon.

    Though as TK Saturn said, you could easily buy a card like a 9800GT or 5770 later down the road for $100-150 USD and upgrade the card to that should the system allow it.

    Edit(2): and if you're looking around for parts / build your own /
    Code:
    http://www.eggxpert.com/forums/thread/172986.aspx
    here are some good configurations ; )
     
  4. westarrr
    OP

    Member westarrr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    Netherlands
    my price range is till €550 for the entire pc...
    Looking for sales now..
    I cant build my own i think, i dont know much 'bout pcs
    but the g310 is a desktop card, and the 5470 is the notebook..

    which cards should i consider for a desktop then?

    Notebook isnt what im looking for, i just stumbled apon and saw the HD5470 in sale with a notebook, because the normal desktops u buy are like 4550(when at 450-500 euros) and 5470 seems much higher...

    But i still dont know which to buy...
    Trying to make my own now
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get the desktop, you can always upgrade the graphics card later.
     
  6. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
  7. westarrr
    OP

    Member westarrr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I dont get all those things...

    DAMM im stuck...
    Might buy the desktop, but then the graphix card! i cant install them myself, and i dont know which card i should do then!
    I dont know what all those things mean, Core mhz, shader mhz and stuff...
    Just wanna buy a nice pc that runs games nicely.
    Can anyone give me a good desktop graphix card that runs on the Intel® Pentium® Dual Core Processor E5400 (2,70 GHz, 800 FSB, 2 MB cache)
    with a nice price... thinking about HD4000 series or hd5000 series

    edit: found a card, Radeon HD 5450 512MB DDR3(desktop); how about it? Is it better in games than G310(desktop)
     
  8. I2aven's_Sag

    Member I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Since you don't seem to be much of a techie, I think the best solution would to buy either of the PC's listed in my original post. Though games don't really make use of Quad-Core computers yet, it's still a good idea to have one in order to be "Future Proof" for applications in the future. Both offer a good amount of ram, 6GB of DDR2 or 4GB of DDR3.

    ATI 4650 >>> http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming...gtx,2676-2.html
    ATI 5770 >>> http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming...gtx,2676-3.html (Scroll to the bottom)

    4650 > Great 1280x1024
    5770 > Great 1920x1080

    More powerful cards are designed for supporting bigger resolutions, more details etc. Basically, the smaller the resolution your comfortable playing, the less powerful of a card you'll need.

    Edit: The 5450 is still a fairly low-end card (both the 512mb and the 1gb) version.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/292584-3...ght-radeon-5450 ~ Take a look at this thread.

    Ultimately, it really depends what games you want to run. Usually, by down-sizing the resolution, you can get notiable gains in FPS/Smoothness.
     
  9. westarrr
    OP

    Member westarrr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I need them in Euros, i guess the shops dont order in Holland/the Netherlands(whats the diffirence [​IMG])
    And the 2nd one is too expensive.
    I also dont own a credit card... we have diffirent thingies, so i cant order them

    nvm this... ill just keep it with the g310...
    i cant install a card.
    Ill just see how it goes..


    I dont need the "Tip of the iceberg" graphics cards or the best of the best...
    As long as it runs a game with moderate graphics no high, or extra high graphics...
    Like it can run WoW, Guildwars and stuff...
    I dont need crysis highest graphix...

    I just asked if a g310 can run a moderate game with moderate graphix
     
  10. I2aven's_Sag

    Member I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Country:
    United States
  11. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Build your own. I did. A lot of other people did it. It's easy if you follow a guide.
    Here are some:
    Hardware.info
    Bouweenpc [Dutch]

    If you need more, Google's your friend.
    Also, with those 550 euro's... please, do you and your money a favor and build your own system.
    It'll give you more computer for less money.
     
  12. westarrr
    OP

    Member westarrr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    Netherlands
  13. I2aven's_Sag

    Member I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Cool, go with the 4850 or 5770 config (the 4850 is the base config). If you don't have a spare OS, I think you know where you can find one [​IMG]
    You should probably be aware that these systems don't come with a monitor, and if you're at all interested in gaming knowing the native resolution of your current
    resolution versus what the card supports give some room for upgrade. The 4850 does 1680x1050 resolution great, and can do 1920x1080 at lower details. All in all,
    "Graphics" really depend on what you're comfortable with; anything lower than 1680x1050 should run great within reason (depending on the game). The 5770 is
    probably more of an enthusiast card since it offers great 1920x1080, but as I said earlier, if 1920x1080 isn't your native resolution (which it probably isn't) you'd
    be better off with the 4850 because the lower the resolution, the smoother the game should run generally; less polygons for the GPU to render.
     
  14. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The difference between laptop and desktop GPUs, typically, is the custom cooling attached. Desktop graphics cards can use a standard PCI-e format with everything stacked on a single PCB. This makes it cheaper to produce, easier to put in, and easier to upgrade when needed. Laptop GPUs are put into compatible sockets on the motherboard (usually non-upgradeable) and then have a custom cooling system built around it. Often, laptop manufacturers tune down the GPU to make it use less power/produce less heat, which doesn't help them match up to desktop graphics.

    As for what computer/laptop you should go with... others have given enough advice. Get what suits you.
     
  15. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    my several year old PC with only 2gb of ram and a geforce 8 series can run WoW and guild wars at max settings (and beyond), so you should be just fine.
     
  16. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WoW itself is several years old, and designed for lower spec systems anyway. Guild Wars is slightly newer but system requirements aren't much higher either (although I like seeing the shiny weapons in high detail).
     
  17. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I can easily do that too, if I had an 8800 GT. You're not going to be able to do that if you have an 8500 GT, like me. I might be able to do that if I play on 640*480,
    which I won't.
     
  18. westarrr
    OP

    Member westarrr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    Netherlands
    made my own pc...



    XFX HD4850 625M
    ATI Radeon HD4850, 512 MB, 256 Bit, PCIe x16 v2.0 (Graphix card)

    AMD Athlon II X2 255
    2x 3100 MHz, 2x 512 kB, Regor (processor)

    MSI 785GM-E51 (motherboard)

    Seagate ST3500641AS-RK
    500 GB, 8,2 / 16 / 7200, € 0,13*, Serial ATA/300 (harddisk)

    OCZ 4 GB DDR3-1333 Kit (RAM)
     
  19. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Go for Kingston ValueRam if it's cheaper in a shop where they also put it together for you.
    Also, if you wait 'till you have some more money you can go for a quadcore processor, it might be useful, and might even give you a higher framerate.
    Also, you might want to look for a GPU in the 5*** series for the same money, that way you'll have DX11 too. And probably a lower electricity bill. [​IMG]
     
  20. westarrr
    OP

    Member westarrr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    Netherlands
    this card is cheaper...
    i dont have sufficient money for quadcore

    My card costs 89,90 euros and the valueRAM cost 96,90
     

Share This Page