Got a nintendo wifi adapter from ebay

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by jessicarabbit, Apr 6, 2009.

Apr 6, 2009
  1. jessicarabbit
    OP

    Newcomer jessicarabbit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    I looked up the error at nintendo and it looks like my zonealarm won't work with it. It says it won't work with zonealarm internet suite and I have zonealarm antivirus and firewall but I guess it's the same. I got the software to install and my ds will connect to my computer in the registration tool but when I do an internet connection test it says unable to connect. I set up my zonealarm to allow everything it needed (according to the nintendo site) but it still won't connect. Is there anything I can try or am I stuck buying new antivirus/firewall? thanks

    btw my error number was 52203

    eta: looks like it is my zonealarm. I forgot that I just got a netbook which doesn't have zonealarm (it has mcafee) and as long as I completely shut off my firewall it works with it. So for now I will just use that and be sure to buy the mcafee when it expires (which I think is a trial) since I don't know what other programs won't work with it. or if you have one tell me what antivirus and firewall you use, please. My other option is to try to return it and get extra routers in order to have both the wep and wpa security on my computer. I really would rather not use the netbook for the connection so...
     
  2. jessicarabbit
    OP

    Newcomer jessicarabbit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    Me again. I found out that in order to use it with zonealarm I have to pretty much disable my entire av/firewall and then re enable it and it is still no guarantee that it will work. I don't like having to shut down my firewall on my netbook every time either so I'm thinking of seeing if the seller will take it back. After restocking and all I will only get about half my money back but I guess it's better than nothing. I'd rather switch back and forth between wep/wpa and keep my firewall and av running than have to shut down my firewall. I think. Dangit I don't know WHAT to do. [​IMG]
     
  3. Captin

    Newcomer Captin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could switch to a better firewall, or use a router as a hardware firewall will beat a software one anytime.

    Zone alarm is well known for not being good, it's a resourse hog too.

    AVG has a good one, Avir too, or mcafee.
     
  4. jessicarabbit
    OP

    Newcomer jessicarabbit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. I had a lot of problems with AVG which is why I got zonealarm. I checked ratings online and it came out on top on a lot of them (this was last year). I'm paid up until November 2009 so I'd rather wait until I *have* to get something else to switch. I do have a router but I don't know if it has a hardware firewall in it. I had it on WEP but then a friend told me I needed to use WPA so I switched it. I could switch back and forth (for now at least) or someone on a tech board told me about using 3 routers (I guess 2 is still risky somehow) to have both WEP and WPA enabled. It's all very complicated to me. I'm so tech-challenged.
     
  5. Nuclei

    Newcomer Nuclei Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    You could always put a layer of lead within the outer walls of your home.

    I'm pretty sure wifi won't penetrate it to the dubious connection thieves you call neighbors.

    /lol.

    xD..

    If you DONT MIND having to sit within just one room to play DS wifi, but still want to enjoy WiFi, you can go buy an older Westell Versalink router (I use 327-W) and leave it as an unencrypted network, but in the back unscrew and remove the WiFi antenna. It effectively cuts the range down from about 30 feet (with walls) to maybe 10. (People can't even pick up on something with such a gimped range. Or if they do, the signal strength is so piss weak they get a bad connection anyways, if at all xD.)

    If 10 is too little, you can go 15 instead. Use the router like normal, unencrypted, but change out the power supply cable to the router from the 10v 1000mA to a 10v 500mA one (All powersuppys list the amperage and voltage on the plug-in piece). It'll cut the wireless range down quite a bit, but not as much as not using an antenna. The power supply gets a little warmer (maybe 3 or 4 degrees F) than normal but other than that, I've noticed nothing hazardous.

    Unfortunately for me, my antenna BROKE. So it's not there. Also, my powersupply broke, and all I had was a 10v 500mA instead of a 1000mA.. so.. My range is like 3 feet max. And that's if I wanna play with 1-2 bars. Good thing My router is like, right next to my chair haha.
     
  6. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to let you know - I had a similar problem with Comodo Firewall & Nintendo USB Wifi adapter
    Followed instructions exactly as Nintendo states & STILL couldn't connect, I then - through trial & error - actually found out that the firewall needed EXTRA rules made up for particular occurance of 'SVCHost'

    I found out this by clearing out my Firewall Logs & then attempting to connect using JUST My DSLite then checking the Log again to see what was being blocked
    (I then repeated it again for the Wii)

    You can see my thread @ http://forums.comodo.com/help_for_v3/comod...r-t24669.0.html

    I'm not sure how you 'add rules' the Zonealarm firewall - but I guess you can look that up yourself or ask in their forums on how to do it

    I hope this helps
     

Share This Page