Good ps2 modchip

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by ChuckBartowski, Dec 29, 2009.

Dec 29, 2009

Good ps2 modchip by ChuckBartowski at 8:04 AM (1,013 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. ChuckBartowski
    OP

    Member ChuckBartowski GBATemp Nerd Herd Specialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Well since i cant find a way to get a softmod method to work, im gonna get a modcip. From what ive seen they are really cheap now, so i was wondering which to get and where to get it from.
     
  2. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    http://www.modchipcentral.com/ has good reviews from what i can see ; but i dont see how easier installing a modchip is from softmodding. From what i heard Installing a modchip in a fat ps2 is pretty easy but in a slim its another story.
    To softmod your ps2 you just have to find someone locally to install it on your MEmory card...
     
  3. Magoo222

    Member Magoo222 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry to hijack the thread, but do you know if they ship to the UK? And if not, does anyone know of a UK site that sells PS2 Mod-Chips?
     
  4. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
     
  5. Magoo222

    Member Magoo222 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Missed that due to it being under the "Shipping within Canada" section. I'll race you to find the shipping costs...
     
  6. ChuckBartowski
    OP

    Member ChuckBartowski GBATemp Nerd Herd Specialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Ive got no one who has that capability. Nobody i know has an older AR Max or codebreaker. The new AR max doesnt have the media functionality so i cant use the one i have.
     
  7. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    get in contact with one of the free volunteers here they'll install freemcboot on your memory card as long as you cover shipping both ways.

    if you've never soldered electronics before, i can guarantee you'll screw up your ps2 in the process.
     
  8. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada

Share This Page