Golden Sun Dark Dawn

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by FlashX007, Dec 5, 2010.

Dec 5, 2010

Golden Sun Dark Dawn by FlashX007 at 11:56 PM (3,470 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. FlashX007
    OP

    Newcomer FlashX007 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    United States
    I'm really starting to enjoy this game but its getting irritating. I'm not a massive cheater but I need to activate a few and I can't on DSTWO. I find it wierd since its the best flashcart out.

    I'm trying to activate a cheat for one part. I'm at King Wo's palace and I see a Venus and Mars thingies. One is behind a fence and the other behind the wall. I figured I could use walk through walls cheat just this once so I can get the basturds but it didn't work.

    I can play this game but no cheats work at all. For example I can't bring up DSTWO's ingame menu either. I also have to run it on clean mode.

    Anyway what I'm trying to say is how do I use cheats or even get onto the ingame menu.

    Thanks in advanced.
     
  2. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    The reason you can't bring up the in game menu or activate any cheats is because you're running the game in clean mode (though it should work in patch mode, I tried it myself).
     
  3. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    Were you running the game in Clean Mode when you tried bringing up the In-Game Menu?
     
  4. hullo8d

    Member hullo8d GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    Some games don't let you bring up the Real-time menu because some of the buttons are locked at certain points. That's why there are 2 different hotkeys you can assign when this happens, one is simple hotkey and the other full hotkey. All you need to do is go into your settings and assign different combination for each and then test out the full hotkey in-game.
     
  5. FlashX007
    OP

    Newcomer FlashX007 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    United States
    Much appreciated thanks. [​IMG]
    All this time I didn't know DSTWO's full strength
     
  6. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,486
    Country:
    United States
    is there any fix for this i keep getting a white screen both patched and clean mode.
     
  7. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    There's a "patch" for this game known as "system3.dat." You can grab a copy of it HERE. It should work. After all, I've already added this and Golden Sun's been working fine for me ever since.

    EDIT: Just copy the system3.dat into the "_dstwo" folder and you're good to go.
     
  8. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,486
    Country:
    United States
    ok it only works for japan version? i need it for nstc version.
     
  9. SirCB85

    Member SirCB85 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Germany
    It also works for EU and US Version.
     
  10. sadak5

    Member sadak5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Country:
    Mexico
    I had the same problem, just updated the OS to it's latest version.
     
  11. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    Oops...sorry 'bout that. Didn't read the title quite clearly.

    I'm not sure how I got it to work. All I did was download the ROM and I was able to start playing it. Though, I could've sworn there was a DSTWO patch for Golden Sun (U) or maybe I was dreaming.
     
  12. yoyoloto

    Newcomer yoyoloto Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Does your patch only work for DSTWO ? or can it also be used in R4 ? (by placing that file you told us in the system folder )

    I have the same white screen problem as DJ
     
  13. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    The patch only works for the Supercard DSTWO...This is the Supercard section. If this patch works for other flash carts in general, then surely it would be posted in the ROM Hacking or Nintendo DS Discussion sections.

    Isn't there a latest version of Wood FW (v1.19 as I can recall) out there? Shouldn't that have bypassed the AP on Golden Sun by now?
     
  14. yoyoloto

    Newcomer yoyoloto Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    It has, but I'm using a clone and well there is no up to date wood firmware compatible with it; I guess I'll have to wait
     
  15. GreenBanana

    Member GreenBanana GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Sorry to burst your collective bubbles, old beans, but your system3.dat patch verily doth not work when applied in the manner specified by yourself and the SuperCard team! Many condolences on a failed attempt to bestow full functionality on a top-tier video game!
     
  16. lilaznkilla

    Member lilaznkilla GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Australia
    For those who are saying that the patch does not work.
    Did you delete the .dtc file as it was stated:
     

Share This Page