Getting metroid trilogy to work on vwii

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,861
Trophies
1
XP
12,890
Country
United States
if you're using usb loader gx, disable emunand support (if using it). I tested the game again yesterday after playing my favorite game dkc returns. before doing that, metroid primes 1 and 2 seemed to work without a problem, but metroid prime 3 would restart my system randomly at boot up. now, it works every time. and, I can get out of the games with wiimote as well, which takes me back to usb loader gx. I mentioned this as being a problematic game to @blackb0x , who's now taken the lead as developer of the project after @Cyan retired from it.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,861
Trophies
1
XP
12,890
Country
United States
if that doesn't work, try selecting "use alt dol." then, the option below it will allow you to boot each one of the games individually.
 

Goos

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
88
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
ÜT: 51.894746,4.491589
XP
178
Country
Netherlands
if you're using usb loader gx, disable emunand support (if using it). I tested the game again yesterday after playing my favorite game dkc returns. before doing that, metroid primes 1 and 2 seemed to work without a problem, but metroid prime 3 would restart my system randomly at boot up. now, it works every time. and, I can get out of the games with wiimote as well, which takes me back to usb loader gx. I mentioned this as being a problematic game to @blackb0x , who's now taken the lead as developer of the project after @Cyan retired from it.
uhm i dont know what usb loader gx is. I use wup installer
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,861
Trophies
1
XP
12,890
Country
United States
someone else had this problem with that vc game. however, the restarting of the system can't be helped. that's how the vwii reacts with vc games. it's not fixable afaik.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,861
Trophies
1
XP
12,890
Country
United States
I actually bought trilogy, and mine does the same thing. if you don't want it to do that, the only way really is to hack the vwii, then have it go back to something like usb loader gx. however, the system will restart when you try to go back to the wii u home menu just like it always does with a vwii vc game.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,861
Trophies
1
XP
12,890
Country
United States
btw, you'll have to use a wbfs version of the game in this instance. it will use the same saves as the vc version too, so your saves won't be lost.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    do you look under the buttons of your mouse
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    why do your friends look under the buttons of your mouse
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they dont it's just that they saw the outside of my mouse and said it was disgusting
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    oh wait I understand my braincells have increased
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    by 1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    funnily enough when i was telling my openly femboy furry bf and my friend(we talk about femboys sometimes) they said "nope we don't wanna hear that that's disgusting"
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    why is cheeto dust of all things
    the subject that crosses the line
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Wait, Switch Online now has Super Mario 64, right?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i really hate to say this but
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i dont think it does
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Huh, makes sense; they did sell that through the 3D All-Stars collection.
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Which, last I heard was removed from the eShop...so they might as well offer it again, I guess...
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Will they use the same Shindou-translated ROM, or the original English ROM?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    googling it, it seems that mario 64 is on the service
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    in japan they use the shindou version apparently but in the states and elsewhere they use the original rom
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    oh boy oh boy oh boy i sure do love living in japan and being a mario fan, i just got the new expansion pack, i cant wait to do some bljs!
    +1
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    From what I've heard about the Expansion Pack, the emulator used has some noticeable input delay and/or lag...would BLJs even be possible?
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Apparently Nintendo adapted the 3D All-Stars emulator, instead of their old Virtual Console emulator - or, if nothing else, copying what fans have done.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    from what i can seem to gather there's some issues but nothing dramatic enough to severely impact what you're playing
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly the whole expansion pack confuses me since i thought the nes/snes games were just a neat little bonus
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    wait julie your bf is a femboy holy shit im jealous
    +1
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    So many planes flying overhead, and they sound close...
    Gift
  • DJPlace @ DJPlace:
    do you need friends to play the games online for the switch exapsion pack i know snes and nes do.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    @El_Doot well hey hot people do get more benefits in life
    Gift
  • J @ Jephter:
    Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but after surfing through for only 10 sec or less this appears. please can someone help me? Thank you in advance.
    Gift
    J @ Jephter: Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but...