Getting homebrew to run on PSP

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by 8BitWalugi, Nov 24, 2008.

Nov 24, 2008
  1. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    okay, so my premodded psp came today and i was wondering, how do you get homebrew to run? evertime i put it into the GAME,150 or 371 folder, it comes up as corrupted data. is it a setting in the homebrew that it only works on certain firmware? anyway, my point is, help!
     


  2. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    what custom firmware are you running?? 5.00 M33-3 is the latest [​IMG]

    I usually put my homebrew in the GAME folder but it does not matter greatly

    one common cause of CORRUPT data is having a FOLDER WITHIN A FOLDER to resolve this is just to have it in just the 1 folder ..

    eg homebrew1\EBOOT.PBP inside the folder called GAME on the PSP [​IMG]

    and not homebrew1\homebrew1\EBOOT.PBP this will show as corrupt data!
     
  3. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    And just to be sure.. if by homebrew you really meant pirated games. Put them in the ISO folder at the root of your card [​IMG]
     
  4. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    um okay. but i want to have multiple homebrew on. to be exact, Homer's RIN, NesterJ, gpSP, PSP MAME and snes9xTYL. now inside these folders, there are many folders that each other folder has. so, my problem here is, how do i put many emulators on the one card.
     
  5. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You can have multiple folders within the GAMEXX folder, but not multiple folders within that.. if that makes sense?
     
  6. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    yea, i know this, but some of the homebrews have folders with the same names. eg, Homer's RIN has a rom folder. MAME PSP has a rom folder too. if i try to put this on, it asks to overwrite. see my point?
     
  7. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    then do it like this:
    game\mame\roms
    game\mame\eboot.pbp
    game\rin\roms
    game\rin\eboot.pbp

    that should work.
    tough what wouldn't work is game\emu\mame\eboot.pbp

    atleast, that's what i understand from the previous posts here.
     
  8. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Yeah, dicemaster is correct. Just make it in that format and make sure you're in custom firmware.
     
  9. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    okay, i did what dicemaster said, but they come up as corrupted data. is there any way to fix this?
     
  10. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Are you sure you're running CFW? What version?

    The only other thing I can think of is if you have a Slim and you're trying to run 1.5 homebrew... or if you have a Phat without the kernel add-on.
     
  11. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    okay, yes your right. i have a slim. my system software says 3.71 M33-4. i dont know what to do. now, can you get better results with this info? and i know i have custom firmware because i've gotten iso's running. but now i want to get homebrew emulators running.
    EDIT: I got gpSP and NesterJ to show up but when i try to run gpSP it says the game could not be started. i've encountered this error message before and i fixed it. thats the problem. the game could not be started problem is fixed and it still cant run on little homebrew. could it be the gbabios? if so, could someone link me one that they have gotten it working with.
     
  12. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    [​IMG] please don't ask for BIOS roms here they too fall under the ROMS category!

    try updating to CFW 5.00 M33-3 and see if they work correctly ... Im using this firmware and they work fine with mine [​IMG]
     
  13. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Try formatting the memory stick and then testing it out, update to the latest CFW, and set your iso loader to the Sony one.
     
  14. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    oh... i bought my psp premodded so i dont really know how to do custom firmware. i know about the pandora battery but i dont think the battery was hard modded. one of my friends mods psp but he cant be stuffed anymore. so all in all, i dont know how to mod psp's
    okay, after reading a bit via google, all i neeed to do is download official 5.00, put it into the update foldeer and i should be fine? but the thing is, do i need a pandora battery/memstick to upgrade my CFW?
     
  15. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Yeah, you don't need a Pandora to update your CFW. You just need the update file and the official Sony eboot, IIRC.
     
  16. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    okay... im going to update now... please let it work!
    oh and quick thing but i dont have the official 5.00 installed. so i put 500.pbp in the update folder. now its being run and after seeing a few youtube vids, it didnt look like cfw when finished.
    okay, now im 5.00 M33-3. now the h-brew isnt showing up. what did i do?!?!?
    k, more edit, i have 2 mem sticks btw, one for isos, one for emu's. i put the other one in and my games are showing up. the odd thing is that the h-brew isnt. now what?
    okay got it showing up. gpSP still cant run. man this is getting annoying...
     
  17. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    this is my directory listing for my gbSP_mod

    [​IMG]

    incase your wondering the the colored media player icons labelled exception and system buttons these are just the normal .dat files but associated with my windows media player.... your icons for those files may not look like that so don't worry [​IMG]

    check your layout is the same and try again see if it works [​IMG]

    also make sure that you are running the M33 driver

    press select in the PSP menu and change the driver to M33 in the VSH menu!
     
  18. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    nyeah? my directory looks nothing like that! hey if you could, copy it, remove the roms, saves & bios, zip it up and send it to me? oh and i've set the M33 driver btw. oh and is there eboots for mame, snes9x and Homers rin that arent corrupted. cau's im preety sure the gpSP case is about to be solved.
    EDIT: I looked through some other topic and i found a link to another download. i dl'd it and it was called 'UO_gpSP_kai'. it said it was an unofficial gpSP. i put it on and it works! im playing mother 3 right now. anyway, im preety sure the NesterJ and gpSP cases have been closed now so now onto the next ones.
    Homer's RIN -Unsolved
    snes9X -Unsolved
    MAME 4 All -Unsolved
    NesterJ -SOLVED! -It just happened
    gpSP -SOLVED! -Used Unofficial gpSP

    help me out with the unsolved ones you guys!
     
  19. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    still going to suggest that its probably a folder within a folder issue!


    my snes layout

    [​IMG]

    try match it up the same [​IMG]
     
  20. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    my Directory:

    F:/PSP/GAME/snes9xTYL
    DATA
    FAQS
    PROFILES
    ROMS
    SAVES
    EBOOT.PBP

    so... it seems as though im missing quite a bit. can you remove your roms, saves and anything you need, zip it up and upload it somewhere?
    EDIT: I redownloaded it from the homepage (i think)and even the H/Page didnt have the rest of the files.
     

Share This Page