Getting games to play n R4 DS....

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by theweAve, Dec 15, 2010.

Dec 15, 2010
  1. theweAve
    OP

    Newcomer theweAve Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Oh-Hi-Oh
    Country:
    United States
    I've havnet updated my R4 firmware in sometime, mainly because my DS broke & I wasnt using my R4 anymore. I got a new DS & I have some games that I loaded to it, but all I get is a white screen when trying to load. The games I had on the R4 & played before work fine. I am not sure if the games I am loading are DSi specific & wont work because of that or it I need to put new firmware on the R4. Any suggestions??

    Thanks in advanced!!
     
  2. pjmorie

    Member pjmorie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
  3. theweAve
    OP

    Newcomer theweAve Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Oh-Hi-Oh
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks pj. I'm assuming this loads the same as the other firmware?
     
  4. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yup, just place the _ds_Menu.dat and __rpg into the root of your card and start it up.
     
  5. pjmorie

    Member pjmorie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
    Very simple to use, delete your existing firmware from the SD card and just copy the _rpg folder and _DS_MENU.dat file from the download, along with your game ROM's, back onto the SD card. This version is only for the origianl R4 and 1:1 clones of it.

    Setup guide here: http://gbatemp.net/t227742-new-users-guide...ting-up-wood-r4
     
  6. theweAve
    OP

    Newcomer theweAve Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Oh-Hi-Oh
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks again pj.

    I got it loaded, but all I get is the Black screen with the white Loading......


    This is simple to do. Maybe i have the wrong files?? Any Ideas?
     
  7. theweAve
    OP

    Newcomer theweAve Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Oh-Hi-Oh
    Country:
    United States
    I believe the R4 card that I have is a R4 III card. It's been so long that I don't remember & I dont have the box. So, I am curious if this is even what I need.
     
  8. pjmorie

    Member pjmorie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
    What exactly is written on the front of your R4 card and is there a website mentioned on it?
    What version of firmware were you using before you tried to update?
    There is a picture of the original R4 on the setup guide under step 1. Your card may not be an 'original' R4.
     
  9. theweAve
    OP

    Newcomer theweAve Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Oh-Hi-Oh
    Country:
    United States
    The front of the card reads this:

    R4
    Upgrade
    Revolution for DS
    (NDSL/NDS)

    When I start the DS, the top screen shows: R4III English Version; bottom screen shows v3.04. Moonshell v.1.71. This is the original firmware I add when I got the card 2 years ago. When I was reading the guide for WoodR4, I didn't see this R4 in the list.

    Hope this helps. I've looked everywhere trying to figure this out.

    I appreciate the help!!
     
  10. pjmorie

    Member pjmorie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
    There are so many different versions of the R4 it's very hard to find something that will work once the original supplier stops upgragding.
    Try this firmware along with your R4 firmware http://filetrip.net/f23163-DSTTi-R4i-SDHC-6-42.html
    After unzipping the download copy the TTMenu folder, TTMenu.dat and TTMenu.nds onto the SD card.
    Now when you boot up the DS you should hopefully see TTMENU.nds in your list of games.
    Click on this and it should hopefully laungh the DSTT firmware. Now run your games from here and most of the new releases should work.
    Remember you need to leave on your R4 firmware along with the TT firmware.
    Retrogamefan updates these files very regular so if it does work keep an eye on his thread for updates. No harm to check out his thread even if it doesn't work bacause chances are someone on there has the same type card : http://gbatemp.net/t267243-retrogamefan-updates-releases?
     
  11. theweAve
    OP

    Newcomer theweAve Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Oh-Hi-Oh
    Country:
    United States
    After clicking I get both screens white & in the bottom left corner of the bottom screen, there is a black square.

    Doesnt look like this is working as well. Crap.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you've got a clone.

    Here's my copy-paste...

    If you want newer games to run, here's what you should try, in order.[*]Latest official firmware.
    Go to the site printed on your cart, download and set up the latest firmware, see if that fixes it. If there's no site printed or the site is down, this is a good resource for finding firmwares.

    [*]AP-bypassing options.
    Some carts have a setting or mode that will disable AP in games (to get them all running), but it may also disable extra features such as cheating and soft-reset, so these options tend to be turned off by default.

    [*]A clean ROM.
    If the ROM you're using has been modified in some way there's a chance it might not work on certain carts. In addition sometimes when transferring ROMs between carts small amounts of damage to the data can occur, so while the ROM may appear to be fine, it's actually been modified on accident and may not run.

    Download and run this program, then go to Update -> DSFCC. This should update you to the most recent version. After that, browse around the folders in the upper-left to find where your ROMs are, when you click the folder the filenames should show up below the folder area. Select the ROM(s) you want to check, then click the health/heart button below the list, that will check to see if it's clean or not. Beware, trimmed ROMs will always show as having been modified! While trimming a ROM is generally regarded as safe, there's always the possibility of something going wrong.

    If you find that the ROM you're having trouble with doesn't match the known clean ROM, then you'll want to redownload it (preferably from a site other than the one you used originally as their copy may be bad/damaged in the first place).

    [*]Format your MicroSD card.
    If the filesystem on your MicroSD card is damaged it can cause all sorts of trouble with running games. First copy everything off of your MicroSD, then run this program to format it properly. After that copy everything back, and see if the game runs properly.

    [*]YSmenu or other alternate firmware.
    If there's no official support you can try an alternate firmware. If you have an original R4 or clone of the original (hardware-wise, not neccessarily name-wise) you can try Wood R4, which updates for new games often. If you have something else you'll have to see if you can run YSmenu, it's got updates to the data files to run new games.

    [*]Game patches.
    If there's no way to run better firmware on your cart, you'll have to hunt out patches for the games and apply them to your ROM. While this used to be very common, it's increasingly rare for patches to be made because there's multiple carts that can run new games without patches now, and multiple alternate firmwares for other carts that add support for new games. Rudolph makes and updates a ROM patcher that will automatically patch many games, but this doesn't support everything. For individual games that patcher doesn't support, you'll need to hunt out the patches yourself via google.

    [*]A new cart.
    If you can't run any decent firmware and there's no patches for the games you want to play, your cart's a piece of shit and you should buy a decent one, to put it bluntly. While many sites may tout R4 clones as amazing stuff and charge $65 for them, in reality even the best flash cart is only about $40, and mainstream ones with less features (that can still play all the latest games) can be had for $25 or less.
     
  13. pjmorie

    Member pjmorie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
    I'm afraid that's all the help I can offer. You could try the download for R4 clones on retrogamefan's thread ( http://gbatemp.net/t267243-retrogamefan-updates-releases? ) and have a look though his thread as someone else may have had the same issue.
     
  14. theweAve
    OP

    Newcomer theweAve Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Oh-Hi-Oh
    Country:
    United States
    I'll keep digging around. Thanks pj!!!
     
  15. theweAve
    OP

    Newcomer theweAve Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Oh-Hi-Oh
    Country:
    United States
    Okay. I loaded the YSMenu for R4 Clones v6.42, that seems to allow me to open into load games from that. But, the games I am trying to play still don't work.

    Starting to think I may have bad games.

    Oh & Rydian, I don't know what the URL was on the box when I got my R4 & it is not on my card. I am sure I may need updated firmware, but I am clueless on where to get it.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The games might be bad, try clean copies first.
     
  17. rockerzz182

    Member rockerzz182 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Pixel City
    Country:
    Philippines
    Try This This Might Work

    Try To Format your Memory Card using sdhc formatter then put the original firmware on your card..
    Then Download This http://www.mediafire.com/?h4aa9kbidbvdnm8
    Extract then copy this on the root on your card..
    Run TTMenu.nds Then run Games..If that doesnt work
    Run TTMenu.nds Then Run YSMenu.nds Then Run Games..
     

Share This Page