Getting an AK2i

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Skyline969, Sep 27, 2009.

Sep 27, 2009

Getting an AK2i by Skyline969 at 3:35 AM (1,063 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    So I'm getting an AK2i. I have a DS Lite right now, but I intend on upgrading to a DSi later. My questions are:
    -Is this one legit? http://dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.18728
    -Can the AK2i be upgradable?
    -Does AKAIO work normally on it? (Just take AKAIO for the AK2 and drop it on the memory card and it should work?)

    Yeah, newb questions that could be answered if I looked around, but I'm lazy today. [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance for some insight on these questions.
     
  2. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    yes that one is real i ordered it but its onmly been shiped today and i ordered it last sunday
     
  3. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    1. Yes, that's the exact same place I bought my AK2i from. Be aware though that Deal Extreme usually take ages to pack and ship the item. I had to wait about 2-3 weeks to receive mine. But it is cheap.

    2. Yes, they fixed the DSi 1.4 firmware block.

    3. Yep. Just drag and drop the AKAIO contents into your microSD card and you're good to go.
     
  4. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Ak2 and AK2i are the same thing just one has DSi compatibility =D
    Edit:also i always pay extra on other sites so i get it faster its cheaper on DealExtreme but i'm too impatient to wait 2-3 weeks lol!
     
  5. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    fewf that the one i got it took a week just to get it out of dx head quaters
     
  6. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Mind as well start calling the acekard "Danny Phantom 2i"
     
  7. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    They should. lol
     
  8. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    copy right laws but why i like the name acekard more will it be the ak logo in the dsl?
     
  9. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    I think it is, my friend has my ds lite now but when I first updated it to work on 4.1 I remember seeing the Acekard logo.
     
  10. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    oh ok becsue i dont yt have a dsi and im gonna use it on dsl
     
  11. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Haha, I'm well aware that DX takes forever and a half to ship. I've ordered an M3 Real, a 4 gig Kingston memory card, a DSTT, and a USB TF Reader from them before. Oh, and PSP parts as well. I'm used to their long shipping times. But if you say that one's real and that it will work the exact same as an AK2, then I'll get it as soon as my PayPal clears... which should be 2 days. Thanks for the help you guys. [​IMG]
     
  12. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    yeah paypal can be a b*tch to mess with i wish more places took credit card payments directly like they used to.
    but DX is good was thinking of ordering a EZVi from them or a M3i0 when i get the spare change and the time to fiddle with paypal.
     
  13. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Nah, I use my bank account with PayPal, seeing as how I don't have a credit card. That's why it takes like 10 days for my money to transfer. Fortunately payments are instant, but then DX takes another 3 weeks to get the item to my parents' house, and then from there it's 3 days for them to mail it to me. So yeah... it takes a month and a few days, give or take a half of a week or so, from the time of my PayPal transfer to get something from DX. Now this may be a problem for some, but it doesn't really affect me in the slightest. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page