1. reklrekl

    OP reklrekl Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    So, It's been a while...
    But now that 6 years passed I finally found the motivation pick this projcect up again, since I didn't find any complete projects by now.

    Now that Chrono Trigger got translated to many languages (including German :D) I just wrote a litte Pyhon script (more on it below) to rip the translations from the PC version,
    so the german translation is basically complete.
    Since this is a German translation the post will be in German, English version below (not quite sure about the forum rules here)

    Es sind fast alle Texte übersetzt, die für die Arena der Äonen (Drahtloskämpfe) fehlen noch.
    Einige Grafiken wurden auch übersetzt, bei allen weiteren weiß ich nicht, ob sich der Aufwand noch lohnt.

    Ich suche Tester für das ganze, es sollte spielbar sein, aber ich möchte auch klarstellen, dass es sich um eine frühe Alpha-version handelt, die bestimmt vor Fehlern wimmelt.
    Also wer einen finden, bitte hier melden, damit die Probleme behoben werden können.
    Wenn Ihr Fehler findet:
    • Bitte den Text WORTGENAU posten, das macht die Suche nach den betroffenen Textstellen einfacher
    • wo im Spiel befindet sich dieser Text (was ist passiert),


    Download:
    Alpha 5
    Aplha 4
    Aplha 3
    Aplha 2
    Aplha 1

    Changelog:
    • Alpha 5:
      • Falsches Deutsch von Bosh behoben
      • Anweisungen beim Trinkspiel mit Ayla korrigiert
    • Alpha 4:
      • Zwei weitere Knopfbeschreibungen korrigiert
        (Unter Anderem in der verfallenen Fabrik)
      • Anzeigefehler im Auswahlmenü zur Arena der Äonen wurde behoben
    • Alpha 3:
      • Falsche bescheibungen der Knöpfe behoben
      • Der Patchvorgang wurde vereinfacht
      • Der Patch basiert nun auf der Originalen EU ROM
    • Alpha 2:
      • Die meisten Textfehler bei Auswahlmenüs wurden behoben
    • Alpha 1:
      • Erste Version


    Installation:
    Was Ihr braucht:
    • Eine EU ROM von Chrono Trigger DS
    • Den Patch
    1. Die ZIP-Datei entpacken
    2. Ziehe die ROM (*.nds) auf die Start.bat
    3. Starte *_DEU.nds mit deinem Emulator/Konsole

    English version:
    There are only a few of the Graphics translated, since I don't even know if it works (or if it's worth the effort).
    I didn't translate the texts for the Arena of Ages (at least not all of them), so I'd say the Translation is 90% complete.

    So I'm looking for people willing to test this, I think its playable, but I just started playtesting it.

    Download:
    Aplha 1


    Installation:
    What you need:
    • an EU ROM of Chrono Trigger
    • The Patch you downloaded from here

    1. Unzip the downloaded file
    2. Drag and drop the *.nds onto the patch.bat
    3. Play *_DEU.nds on your favourite System/Emulator!

    More on my Translation Tool
    You want to translate Chrono Trigger to your language?
    Great! Chrono Trigger has been translated to a few languages on PC (and I think Android and iOS too).
    So I made a little tool to help me rip the strings from the PC version and insert it into the NDS version.
    This made it possible to "translate" Chrono Trigger in less than 12 hours.

    There is still quite some manual work needed, but the tool helps with most of the messages.

    What you need for text translation:
    Step by step instructions:

    1. Extract the resources of the PC Version with CT_Explore. You'll only need the "Localized" folder inside the resources.bin
      (This might work as well for iOS/Android versions, but I didn't verify)
    2. Do a Textdump of the NDS ROM with Chrono Translator
    3. Copy the folders "TEXTDUMP" and "Localized" into the same folder like my script
    4. Update ROM folder name and locale name in the script
    5. Run the script with Python3
      The translated files will be created in "./TEXTDUMP/*ROM name*/translated/"
    6. Edit the files by hand (more below)
    7. Load the textdumps back into the ROM with Chrono Translator
      Note the files need to be copied back into the TEXTDUMP folder that Chrono Translator created
    This is my first Python script ever, so please don't blame me :)
    The script isn't perfect, the regex doesn't catch everything, so you'll have to edit every output file by hand.

    Search the files for ">" or "<" (without quotes), these mark escape sequences from the pc version.
    Most of them that are left are used for indentation and can be removed/replaced by spaces.

    Also, some special characters won't get converted, but Chrono Translator will tell you what's wrong.
    Some of the line breaks (at least in the extras screen) need to be fixed manually.

    Also these files won't get translated by the script:

    • BIG:
      • comu0.msg
      • tutorial.msg
      • menu.msg
      • system.msg
      • start.msg
      • wireless*.msg
      • debug*.msg (I didn't translate these, I think it's not needed)
    • SMALL:
      • system.msg

    6 Year old post:
    Hey guys, I'm planning a german translation for Chrono Trigger DS, but im looking for help!




    Helpers needed:
    -2 Translators
    -1 Graphic artist

    Current Helpers:
    me (translation)

    Requirements:
    -Knowledge of Chrono Trigger (SNES or DS)
    -European ROM (GOOGLE!)
    -This translation tool
    -Skype
    -Knowledge of the German and English Language

    Progress so far:
    Menus: 100%
    Items: 100%
    Techs: 100%
    Texts: 0%
    Descriptions: 0%
    Locations: 100%
    Graphics:20%

    So if you want to help me, i'll put you on the list, send you the files and that's it!
     
    Last edited by reklrekl, Jul 18, 2018
  2. Auryn

    Auryn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    555
    Country:
    Swaziland
    Are all german translation groups dead?
    Startrans, g-trans, manu loewe?
    I saw a forum some years ago with many sub-forums to different german translation groups...all gone?
     
  3. reklrekl

    OP reklrekl Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    unfortunatly yes... :(
    there were a few projects started back in 2010, but no one answered
     
  4. Auryn

    Auryn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    555
    Country:
    Swaziland
    Nuckes Tranlation, Emu-trans, Emubase, romhack.de, star-trans, alemanic translations g-trans and SKUSS....
    all R.I.P. Rest in peace.

    Anyway they guy you need is still alive and kicking and for real :)
    http://www.manuloewe.de/main/
     
  5. CrazyMaxx

    CrazyMaxx Stand-User
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    451
    Country:
    Germany
    Is the project in work?
     
  6. VitaType

    VitaType GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,041
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't think they still work on it (the posts are from 2012)
    But there are german translations of the SNES version for example: http://www.romhacking.net/translations/1148/ (you can find prepatched version of the rom on the internet too)
     
  7. CrazyMaxx

    CrazyMaxx Stand-User
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    451
    Country:
    Germany
    OK, i download it after coming a simple snes injector out (Same thing is on gbc)
     
  8. reklrekl

    OP reklrekl Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    bump, it's finally ready :)
     
    Last edited by reklrekl, Jul 9, 2018
    MattyXB likes this.
  9. MattyXB

    MattyXB GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    Thank you very much. testing it right now on the M3 Real DS, works fine.
     
  10. reklrekl

    OP reklrekl Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    Nice, let me know if you notice something strange, best would be a screenshot/photo
     
  11. MattyXB

    MattyXB GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    Found a first error. In the past when you arrived in the Castle and speak with Marle she will vanished. When you then speak with the Womans the menu is wrong for the answers.

    Again in german, because I can better discribe it in german:
    Im Mittelalter wenn man im Schloß ankommt und Marle verschwindet. Wenn man dann mit dem oberen Dienstmädchen spricht ist das Menü für die Antworten verschoben. Unteres Dienstmädchen mit anderer Frage ist richtig.

    Oberes Dienstmädchen:
    Du hast dir doch nichts zuschulden
    (hier ist der Pfeil für Antwort 1 mitten drin) -> kommen lassen?
    (Antwort 2) -> Natürlich nicht
    In gewisser Weise

    Hope this helps without photo.

    PS: Same error on Lynne-Platz Present (when you came back from the past) Weapon Seller who wants to buy the Amulet from Marle
    Gleicher Fehler bei Bosh, der Schwertschmied (nach der Rückkehr aus dem Mittelalter). Bei beiden Fragen ist die Antwort jeweils um eins nach oben verschoben.

    Interesse an einer meiner feinen Klingen? (1. Antwort hier drin)
    Aber sicher (2. Antwort)
    Nein, Danke

    Amulett verkaufen?
    Okay
    Nein (1. Antwort hier)
    (2. Antwort hier im Nichts)

    Truce Herberge (Gegenwart)
    - Übernachtung auch gleicher Fehler
    - Ein Drink dem Pianospieler ausgeben ebenso

    Rathaus
    - Person nahe der Treppe Kurzbefehle fürs Menü gleicher Fehler
    - Treppe hoch Person mitte Wissensschatz teilhaben ebenso
     
    Last edited by MattyXB, Jul 10, 2018
    reklrekl likes this.
  12. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 Robert'); DROP TABLE members;--
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,377
    Country:
    Germany
    I wonder if this counts as a necrobump after 6 years :D

    Either way, I am going to give this a shot later today.
     
  13. reklrekl

    OP reklrekl Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah i thought that to myself too :D
    But no risk no fun, eh?

    thanks @MattyXB, I'll have a look at it!
     
  14. MattyXB

    MattyXB GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    Ok, this time also in german, because I can better explain it.

    Zukunft - Arris Dome hatte ich ganz schöne Probleme und dachte das Spiel ware kaputt, ein Kopierschutz oder ähnlich. Dann laß ich in einer Englischen Komplettlösung (für SNES und PS1) den Hinweis mit L+R halten und dann A drücken für das Terminal Passwort. Ich suchte ein Video und fand dann herraus das in dem Spiel die Ratte diesen Hinweis gegeben hat. Problem hier bei DS Deutsch Übersetzung sagt die Ratte was völlig anderes, weis jetzt noch nicht ob es später relevant ist (blau, gelb, rot). Die Ratte müßte den Hinweis mit L+R halten geben, was auch Sinnvoller ist als ein Farbcode, den man selber ausprobieren kann.

    Mein Tip wäre den Hinweis der Ratte zu den Ursprunglichen Original zu ändern. Ansonsten kann man sich hier festsetzen denke ich, wenn man das Spiel nicht kennt (oder lange nicht mehr gespielt hatte).

    PS: Hab nochmal über YT rausgefunden, beim DS Englischen sagt die Ratte auch L+R halten. Keine Ahnung wieso im Deutschen ein völlig anderer Hinweis gegeben wird.
    YT suchen: Chrono Trigger: 2300 AD - L+R+A Problem


    Makes sense, but then it must 100% changed to fit the DS Version. :yaynds:
     
    Last edited by MattyXB, Jul 11, 2018
  15. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 Robert'); DROP TABLE members;--
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,377
    Country:
    Germany
    The issue here is most likely that @reklrekl used a python script to rip the german translation from the PC game which is most likely adapted for an xbox controller or some other input methods.

    EDIT: which European ROM of the game is needed? There is only one in the no-intro database (351 - Chrono Trigger (Europe) (En,Fr) with an MD5 of 4f3e02394f359aa0b9b4cf680d00e49f) but that doesn't work, the batch file complains about a wrong checksum.
     
    Last edited by Localhorst86, Jul 11, 2018
  16. MattyXB

    MattyXB GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    Not sure about the Number and MD5, my Rom which I used has a CRC 5294086F.
     
  17. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 Robert'); DROP TABLE members;--
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,377
    Country:
    Germany
    yeah, that's the bad dump. The proper dump of this ROM is 82b3787c
    http://datomatic.no-intro.org/?page=show_record&s=28&n=3351


    EDIT: forced the patching process by using the -n command and it seems to work fine.
     
    Last edited by Localhorst86, Jul 11, 2018
  18. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3,045
    Country:
    Austria
    Nice one! Is it okay to use cheat codes for a playthrough?
     
  19. MattyXB

    MattyXB GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    Nächster Auswahlfehler in der Zukunft, nachdem man den Roboter im Team bekommt und sich zwischen Marle und Lucca entscheidet.
    Lässt man Lucca zurück und spricht sie an um sie mitzunehmen ist 1. Antwort auf Nein und 2. im Nichts dadrunter. Marles Antworten sind Okay, wenn man Sie zurücklässt.
     
  20. reklrekl

    OP reklrekl Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    Gefunden und gefixt. Danke dafür :)
    Mir sind auch schon ein paar solcher Probleme aufgefallen, z.B gan am Anfang beim Fest, wo man zur Musik tanzen kann.
    Da werden einem auch die "Farbigen Knöpfe" empfohlen :D
    Sind die Überbleibsel aus der PC-Übersetzung die man antürlich alle manuell anpassen muss.


    Yeah, exactly that's the case. That's why we manually playtest this :)

    WHOOOPS! I must've swapped my dump with one I had for testing :(
    Alpha 3 and all following verions will be based off the correct one.
    Since it seems to work for you I modified the Patch script so it checks for md5, and the user can select if he wants to patch anyways if it missmatches.
    This should make it easier to install. Thanks!


    Sure do whatever you like, but I didn't test if they work. Let me know if you find out :)
     
    Dodain47 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Translation, Trigger, Project