GC Backups on Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by berger20, Jan 31, 2009.

Jan 31, 2009

GC Backups on Wii? by berger20 at 2:28 AM (1,217 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. berger20
    OP

    Newcomer berger20 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    After some researching I'm still confused on the whole GC backups on Wii.
    I want to know if it will work before I use my last few discs, plus all the posts were dated 2006 or 2007, I'm hoping somethings changed in 2 years.

    My Wii is softmodded but I have read that any GC backup (multigame or not, shrunk or not, MiniDVD/DVD or DL-DVD) will not work on the Wii unless it's chipped.
    I have "GCOS Loader (MultiGame ISO Creator v3.2.4F+)" and want to compile mine and my neighbours GC collection to just a few DVD's.
    The Multigame GCOS image creator has a copy of GCOS that runs from the disc, and even supports dual layer (though I'm sticking to DVD-5's).

    Basically:
    - Can discs made from this program work on softmodded Wii's? (BTW. my DVD's work for movies and the japanese verision of WiiFit, on an EU console)
    - If not, is there any other way without taking a screwdriver to the box. Like a GC loader (like Gamma but for GC mode)
     
  2. samagon

    Newcomer samagon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    There is no way to load GC games on the Wii without a modchip or an SD Gecko/Wiikey SD. The SD gecko is a GC memory card adapter that takes SD cards. It is really not worth the effort to get it running. Most games dont run at all and those that do have really horrid audio issues and painfully slow FMV's.
     
  3. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,846
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    Why are people so afraid of screwdrivers? It's just as safe as a soft-mod. You can brick your wii with either if you're an idiot, but doing the actual work isn't so bad.
     
  4. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. The Wii was the only thing I could ever take apart and put back together. [​IMG]
     
  5. bugaveli

    Banned bugaveli Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    In a remote place
    Country:
    United States
    wanna piss the whole forum off?
    ask if you can load GC games without a chip
     
  6. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica

    Ooo Ooo OOO!!! I want a go at it!

    Basically it isn't possible yet. People are working at it but I'm pretty sure its a long way off. You can get a GeckoSD or whatever it is but its pretty bad. I'd just get a modchip since they're close in price and its pretty easy to do if you get a solderless one. If you get one that needs soldering test your abilities before going at it because if you screw up... yeah.
     
  7. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    what about all the hacks in preloader that enable gamecube games? is that just region free?
    edit:nevermind
     
  8. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Its region free hacks
     
  9. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    It's the solder they are more afraid of, and trust me, most people CAN'T solder those little drivechips.
     
  10. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    They can always use those new 100% solderless ribbon cables chips. I think pretty much anyone can install one of those without screwing it up.
     

Share This Page