Homebrew GBA Macro Firmware

cody64n

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
66
Country
United States
One day when I was watching Youtube I saw People making Gameboy Advance Macro's out of their old DS/DS Lites and that when it got me thinking "Why don't we make a firmware for the Macro!"

Is it possible?
 

huntertron1

dancing to music!
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
576
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
615
Country
United States
last i checked you can flash your ds to make its region worldwide. i think im wrong though that might be for the ds download station.
 

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
3,071
Trophies
2
XP
4,452
Country
If by CFW you mean the ability to run homebrew/games, the closest is Flashme which can remove the RSA checks for downloaded DS software and enable a quick boot to a flash cart with some other features e.g. brick protection
 
Last edited by tech3475,

Minox

Thanks for the fish
Former Staff
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
6,973
Trophies
2
XP
5,988
Country
Japan
The main problem with Flashme as I understand it was that the amount of space that could be used for new functionality was so limited that they could barely implement anything extra. I imagine what the OP would like to do would be something along the lines of taking out the DS-specific functionality and then implement extra GBA functionality instead.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jhynjhiruu

cody64n

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
66
Country
United States
The main problem with Flashme as I understand it was that the amount of space that could be used for new functionality was so limited that they could barely implement anything extra. I imagine what the OP would like to do would be something along the lines of taking out the DS-specific functionality and then implement extra GBA functionality instead.
That was what i was thinking.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,064
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
19,718
Country
Antarctica
The only thing FlashMe really does is remove the H&W screen, autoboot a GBA flashcard in NDS mode and make the handheld brick proof (if you brick it with one of the 2 DS brickers, you can flash FlashMe back to the unit with a GBA cart)

Unfortunately, there's very little, if anything that can be added to the GBA mode of the DS.
The hardware is simply to weak and there's no ports that GBA mode can access.

last i checked you can flash your ds to make its region worldwide. i think im wrong though that might be for the ds download station.

DS is region free.
DSi is the only DS with a region lock.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
35,816
Trophies
3
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
26,135
Country
United Kingdom
Unfortunately, there's very little, if anything that can be added to the GBA mode of the DS.
The hardware is simply to weak and there's no ports that GBA mode can access.

If flashme can force boot the DS in various slots and modes then force booting GBA slot is doable enough (you are not doing any functionality, probably just adding a few NOPs to the boot slot loop to force GBA mode on GBA slot) and as you can already select the GBA screen in firmware that too is just going to be forcing a certain outcome for a loop/check.

I would certainly like some kind of terminate and stay resident or active mods, the DS side of things of http://fwnitro.caitsith2.net/ had something but GBA mode is a reboot affair so that might be harder.

That said if you are certain DS mode will not be used again you might be able to snag some of the space used by the wifi settings (the DS was so touch and go they added wifi to later games presumably so as to avoid having to pay out for the wifi intellectual property).
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But it doesn't have a speaker or battery.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Guess you could fit one in there.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The contacts are there, and the device already has charge control circuitry, but you have to buy and solder the battery yourself.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And that's too fiddly for ole' butterfingers over here.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Gimme a finished product please.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No rough edges either, I might hurt myself.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Nah, I can do it within a few mins.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Well yes, I suppose you can, but I can't.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    If it has a USB port, then you could perhaps try connecting a power bank.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It has USB-C.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That should be alright.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Well that was an owie hit my hand on the oven
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Hope you're alright there
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I enjoy the pain
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Not weird at all
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Who said I was normal
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I didn't ask
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It's okay to not be normal, act natural
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ok just because you told me to
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's fair
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm still bloody waiting for my eBay item to arrive, still haven't because of the *fuck you middle finger* pay strikes.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Can imagine other people waiting for their Xmas gifts.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Timestamp to the conclusion https://youtu.be/tAtaIZD0Ebs?t=624
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Timestamp to the conclusion https://youtu.be/tAtaIZD0Ebs?t=624