GBA emulation on NDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by smoothbwlr, Jun 24, 2008.

Jun 24, 2008

GBA emulation on NDS by smoothbwlr at 11:58 PM (2,304 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. smoothbwlr
    OP

    Newcomer smoothbwlr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to play GBA games on the ds without having the actual gba game? I play a couple like emerald and such on no$gba and want to know if I can play those games on my ds. Is there an emulator that I need besides an r4? can i play these on an r4?
     
  2. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You will need a slot2 expansion pack (ewin, Ezflash3in1 etc.)
     
  3. smoothbwlr
    OP

    Newcomer smoothbwlr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I see, so there is no possible way to play them on the ds without buying additional hardware? I just want to make sure cause if i buy it and then the r4 allows for gba emulation....that would really suck lol
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Correct.
     
  5. smoothbwlr
    OP

    Newcomer smoothbwlr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    actually...thanks for the info. I will just buy the card its pretty cheap...thanks again
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Right, nobody's made a software GBA emulator for the DS because even if one was made, it would run horribly slow and with tons of glitches. Nobody's going to bother making one when the DS already has 99%-compatible hardware GBA emulation from the GBA slot.
     
  7. ben_not_benny

    Member ben_not_benny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I wished the DS had a slot for GBA link cable. You can only play single player GBA on the DS, that really kills me.
     
  8. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Me too. I can't do much anymore without a GBA SP...
     
  9. Mei-o

    Member Mei-o Generic Asian Kidâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Somewherewherewhere
    Country:
    Japan
    I don't get why we still need expansion carts, isn't the DS already much powerful than the GBA? Why will it run slow? If we can convert DS games so that they can be played in Slot-2, why can't we do the same for GBA games to be converted to be played in Slot-1?
     
  10. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The DS cannot run GBA code in DS mode, the GBA cannot be emulated effectively in DS mode (read DanTheManMS's post above), and slot 1 is not accessible in GBA mode.
     
  11. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    That made me [​IMG]

    I once read that something needs to be approx. 8 times as powerful to emulate something well enough to be up with the original console.
     
  12. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Correct, the DS does not have enough processing power to emulate GBA.

    Even PSP (at least twice as powerful) needs frameskip for parts of many games.
     
  13. jeronz

    Newcomer jeronz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yeah numbers like that always get thrown around, ive heard 7x, 10x and now 8x (from you). You can't really say that to emulate something it needs to be x times more powerful. It also depends on the architecture (eg ARM, x86 etc - need to be more powerful if the two systems architectures are very different.) of the two systems, and how complicated the system being emulated is among other things (Eg N64 and sega saturn aren't very powerful but the hardware is very complicated). And what does one mean when you say x times more powerful, like in mhz? Take this example. The new atom 1.6ghz is much slower than a p4 1.6ghz, even though they are both x86. One of the reasons for this is that the atom processor is an 'in order' proc.
     
  14. fenthwick

    Member fenthwick GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Sweden
    I've read that the 7x-10x powerful thing is just bullshit. It all comes down to how skilled the coder is. If he's good he can use almost the same hardware but most are just doing things the easiest way thus the steep req.
     
  15. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    No. If the programmer is good the requirements will be far lower, but you will still need a much faster processor than the ones you're emulating unless the instruction sets and registers are nearly identical.

    Keep in mind that this sort of highly optimized emulation requires hardware acceleration for the graphics and sound so that the CPU doesn't have to emulate those as well, as well as speed hacks to get things running as fast as possible. Truly accurate emulation requires far more than 10x the total processing power of the original system.
     
  16. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Just to (hopefully) help finalize this thing, do you guys know who Dwedit is? He created Goomba Color, the GBC emulator for the GBA. It now runs nearly all games at full speed, but only because the hardware is similar enough that things like drawing to the screen and playing sound could be mapped directly to the GBA's 2D hardware and audio core, making it faster (tons of speedhacks also helped). Regardless, the point is that even Dwedit is convinced GBA emulation on the DS would not be faster than 1 fps, if that. I can't think of anyone more qualified to comment (except perhaps Exophase), as he did basically the same thing on the GBA. If he says it's not possible on the DS, I for one believe him.

    His exact quote:
     

Share This Page