GBA Backup Tool Help

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by InsaneNutter, Mar 22, 2009.

Mar 22, 2009

GBA Backup Tool Help by InsaneNutter at 11:33 PM (2,522 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. InsaneNutter
    OP

    Member InsaneNutter GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’m trying to use GBA Backup Tool 0.21 to backup my saves, however I just get the message “This hardware is not available”

    I’m running it from an M3 DS Real with the Sakura firmware, version 0.1 works just not 0.21 which is the one I believe will dump eeprom saves.

    Any ideas on what the problem could be?
     
  2. Blake1710

    Member Blake1710 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmm, I remember doing this...

    press R and look at the settings that could change the save type.

    sorry if i've given no help
     
  3. InsaneNutter
    OP

    Member InsaneNutter GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply, the only thing I can press is A which just turns the DS off.

    I’ve tried it with the GBA Ram expansion in and out as well as with a retail GBA game, no difference what so ever!

    [​IMG]
     
  4. InsaneNutter
    OP

    Member InsaneNutter GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So no one has any ideas on how to get this working?
     
  5. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    does your gba slot definetly work? i.e. can you boot gba games normally? was the gba game inserted when you started the homebrew? i'm afraid i dont have any experience with this particular homebrew, just the nds backup tool, which is pretty much the same tool only for nds games...
     
  6. InsaneNutter
    OP

    Member InsaneNutter GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I’m able to play GBA games on my DS fine.

    I have tried the 0.1 version of this tool on my DS which works perfectly, however 0.21 refuses to work, it would be nice to get it working so I can backup my eeprom based saves.
     
  7. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    I believe Rudolph was asked to remove all support of M3 products from his software which explains why the M3 Real isn't detected. =\
     
  8. InsaneNutter
    OP

    Member InsaneNutter GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I see, that would explain it. Any idea why he was asked to remove support for M3 products? That’s a bit of a shame.

    I don’t suppose there is a hack to get it working with an M3?
     
  9. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    I can't remember if there was an actual reason or not.

    I'm pretty sure there was a hack that came out that re-added M3 support but I can't remember if it was for the GBA Backup Tool or one of the other tools. Still, I suggest not using the hack if you do find it because the hack was was disrespectful and the reason why Rudolph actually discontinued further development in his NDS tools.
     

Share This Page