Gateway Not Booting After Update

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Vorkhan, Jan 7, 2015.

1. Vorkhan
    OP

Vorkhan Newbie

Newcomer
    Jan 7, 2015
    Hi there, I'm relatively new to the scene so I apologise if I've missed an obvious answer to this, but I did research a bit and search the forums on my own before asking.

My problem is that I'm trying to update from Gateway 2.0b to 2.7 and after completing the blue card step I can no longer get into the Gateway menu via Settings -> Other Settings -> Profile -> DS Profile. Generally doing this displays the Gateway logo briefly, but then both screens go black and it kicks me back to the home screen.

To be clear what I mean by "after completing the blue card step" is that I downloaded the new Gateway 2.7 files, copied the contents of the Blue Card (R4i) folder to a micro-SD card, which I inserted into the blue Gateway card, and put into the 3DS. I then launched the Labyrinth "game" or whatever it is from the home screen, and started the Gateway installer. It installed seemingly correctly. Upon going back to the home screen and trying to get to the Gateway menu, I get the above problem.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

2. cherryduck

cherryduck GBAtemp Regular

Jul 1, 2007
    The far side of the moon
    I've had similar problems in the past, what worked for me was to format the micro SD card (in the red card). Obviously backing up and restoring ROM files before and after.

If you boot it up without the gateway card in does it go the menu where you can choose the mode, dump cartridges etc?

3. MichiS97

MichiS97 "Leftist snowflake milennial"

GBAtemp Patron
    MichiS97 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Jun 14, 2011
    Gambia, The
    Bavaria
    Did you copy the new Launcher.dat to the SD card in your 3DS? Did you try re-formatting the SD card in your 3DS?

4. Livin in a box

Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

Jul 18, 2008