Hacking Gateway CFW loads back into homebrew

Lockerzpoints2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
172
Country
United States
I use to know what caused this... Could someone help me? I'm helping a friend out and his gateway keeps loading back into homebrew. What could be the cause?
 

M tha MaN

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
234
Trophies
0
Age
35
Website
www.psxtools.de
XP
1,382
Country
Germany
When menuhax is installed on sysNAND and you create an EmuNAND after installing menuhax to your sysNAND, it's also installed to your emuNAND. That's the problem I think.
 

Lockerzpoints2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
172
Country
United States
When menuhax is installed on sysNAND and you create an EmuNAND after installing menuhax to your sysNAND, it's also installed to your emuNAND. That's the problem I think.

I didn't run into that problem when I installed menuhax, formatted my emunand, reinstalled menuhax and booted into Gateway so I'm not sure if that is the problem
 

M tha MaN

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
234
Trophies
0
Age
35
Website
www.psxtools.de
XP
1,382
Country
Germany
So you start the 3DS, wait a little bit and then you see the HBL?

And did you format your sysNAND or emuNAND? And if you really mean emuNAND - there's no need for menuhax on emuNAND! You just need it on sysNAND to be able to autoboot to emuNAND.
 

Lockerzpoints2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
172
Country
United States
So you start the 3DS, wait a little bit and then you see the HBL?

And did you format your sysNAND or emuNAND? And if you really mean emuNAND - there's no need for menuhax on emuNAND! You just need it on sysNAND to be able to autoboot to emuNAND.

Yeah we see HBL and load Gateway and it loads back to homebrew.

We formatted sysNAND first to unlink the sysNAND and emuNAND process. We installed menuhax on sysNAND, everything was going fine then Gateway boots back to homebrew for some reason.
 

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
4,576
Country
United States
Yeah we see HBL and load Gateway and it loads back to homebrew.

We formatted sysNAND first to unlink the sysNAND and emuNAND process. We installed menuhax on sysNAND, everything was going fine then Gateway boots back to homebrew for some reason.
Did you install menuhax before or after you formatted sysNAND?
 

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
4,576
Country
United States
After you load up Gateway, menuhax tells your system to boot back into the Homebrew Launcher because you didn't do anything to stop it from doing that. Go into the Homebrew Launcher, open menuhax_manager. There should be an option to configure the haxx trigger. Select that option and check the button configuration. It should tell you what button you need to press in order to bypass menuhax from loading up after you select the Gateway option in the Homebrew Menu.
 
Last edited by KunoichiZ,

Lockerzpoints2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
172
Country
United States
After you load up Gateway, menuhax tells your system to boot back into the Homebrew Launcher because you didn't do anything to stop it from doing that. Go into the Homebrew Launcher, open menuhax_manager,. There should be an option to configure the haxx trigger. Select that option and check the button configuration. It should tell you what button you need to press in order to bypass menuhax from loading up after you select the Gateway option in the Homebrew Menu.

Well it's set to type 2 and holding R to boot to the regular home menu. Should I set it to something else? Is that what's causing the problem?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: His grandma was hot.