Games that Brick a Acekard 2i?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by ibetheelmo, Apr 20, 2010.

Apr 20, 2010
  1. ibetheelmo
    OP

    Newcomer ibetheelmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I read an article from a year ago that had a list of some games that would BRICK your acekard if you tried running them.
    Does anyone know if there still are any games like this? Or even a list of what games wont work/lag on the acekard?
    I've google'd, but not found much.
    Thanks in advance.
     


  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Link please?
     
  3. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. clonesniper666

    Member clonesniper666 KRII LUN AUS

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    The Great Underworld Warzone
    Country:
    United States
    I am not sure of the article you are talking about, but most likely it was based on one of the two brickers that would be sent out as real games, until someone tried one and found not the game, but something very different. The one I do remember was a release of Dragon Quest 9 in Japanese that was really a bricker, that came out last year I believe.

    If you use a trusted site to get your games then you should have no worries about a bricker, being downloaded from them.
     
  5. ibetheelmo
    OP

    Newcomer ibetheelmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
  6. clonesniper666

    Member clonesniper666 KRII LUN AUS

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    The Great Underworld Warzone
    Country:
    United States
    It is against the rules but go to the EX4 's website and they have it listed on there under some heading. It is quite funny.
     
  7. ibetheelmo
    OP

    Newcomer ibetheelmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    EX4's website?

    FIX: nevermind, found what you ment.

    RE-FIX: Says site is 'building'.
     
  8. clonesniper666

    Member clonesniper666 KRII LUN AUS

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    The Great Underworld Warzone
    Country:
    United States
    Noticed that after replying, must be redoing their website, but just Google nds rom downloads and it will come up on the first page.
     
  9. ibetheelmo
    OP

    Newcomer ibetheelmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Well, all the options of websites here and I've used most of them. lol not sure which one we're going for tho...
     
  10. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Here's a tip....stop making posts regarding rom sites [​IMG] and your stay @ GBAtemp will be a long & happy one !!
     
  11. nycsam786

    Member nycsam786 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    I never heard of this happening.
     
  12. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    There are a bunch of virus games, but none of which that I know can brick an Acekard (the virus only bricks DSes). The Acekard doesn't even have on-board memory so there's no way you can soft-brick it. The most damage they can do (besides bricking your DS), is to brick your microSD but that should be easily replaceable.
     
  13. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does have on-memory, that's where the Danny Phantom gets stored. It's 16M Organized as 2M x8 (2MB). Seeing as it's writable, I can't see why a dodgy ROM couldn't corrupt it. The Danny Phantom update is 1.54MB so i'm wondering how much of the Acekard's firmware is in that, presumably if something bricks the Acekard's memory there's a decent chance a reflash with DP will fix it.
     
  14. Doom32x

    Newcomer Doom32x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    Country:
    Argentina
    I heared that some games bricks the acekard, here are some examples:
    - A guy from (elotrolado) reported that after playing 16hs with Pokemon Soul Silver (edicion plata alma, spanish version) the Game freezes with withe screen and after reset the DS, the acekard bricked
    - A guy from (another forum with roms to downlad) reported that after playing and saving Inazuma Eleven 3, the acekard bricked (and a guy from here reported the same with 2 aceakrd) (the same happened, withe screen and after reebot the acekard bricked)
    - A friend tell me that after 40hs playing Dragon quest IX, the game freezes with withe screen and after reebot, the acekrd bricked...

    Someone now how to avoid this? I know how to repair them (u need an R4 or another with hombrew and launch NDSL NEW 1.4) and repleace the cartidge, but someone know what game do this?

    Thanks
     
  15. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    For the love of God, there's already like 5 different threads about this. No game bricks the AK2i. Comment on Love Plus+ on the AK2i:

    This applies to other games as well.
     
  16. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    also heard something
    if you put your acekard 2i in and go on the DSi webbrowser it brick your acekard [​IMG]
     
  17. R2DJ

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can confirm that that is a lie.
     
  18. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands

    ok
     
  19. Doom32x

    Newcomer Doom32x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hi, I dont think its false... Here I have some quotes from the people that I have said before:
    The first person that I mention before:
    http://www.elotrolado.net/hilo_hilo-oficia...2i_1151365_s900
    "I upgraded the Acekard 2i to work for DSi after 1.4 from Nintnedo. Now, after a year later, when I tried to enter in the cartidge, it says "Pulse power to turn off the console etc. etc. etc." This happend yesterday after I played Pokemon Soulsivler (spanish version Pokemon Plata Alma) and in "Ciudad Orquídea" (idk what is the name in english)" I use Fly and the game freezes (black screen). I turned off after waiting 2min and now its doesnt work" (sorry for my bad translation)
    The second person that I metion before:
    http://gbatemp.net/t238123-ds-5000-inazuma...t&p=2962401
    And the third person its a friend that told me that... I dont belive the DQIX have a bricked ap, I think its problem of my friend...

    I will try to play inazuma eleven 3 and I will say if it bricks the acekard or not.. will try to record it [​IMG]

    Bye! [​IMG]

    PS: sorry for my bad english
     
  20. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've spent a lot of hours playing heart gold on my Acekard without any problems and am currently playing DQIX as well. All of these rumors are lies. LIES I TELL YOU!
     

Share This Page