GameCube Softmod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LightyKD, Oct 26, 2009.

Oct 26, 2009

GameCube Softmod by LightyKD at 2:54 PM (1,675 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I just found this GameCube for a cheap price and I want to softmod it and give the system to my neice. I have action replay and a "tutorial" (granted its not much of one) for how to load GCOS with my AR disc. I have one major problem. I cant find the "GCOS.gci" file. I keep running into the raw images and I'm on a mac so I don't have a way to translate it into a .gci file. I was wondering if anyone had that file or a link to it that they would be willing to share? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    maybe you'll find more help posting in the right section ?
     
  3. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Way to complicated anyway. Get a XenoGC.
     
  4. Dmon84

    Member Dmon84 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Country:
    Germany
    Yea get a XenoGC! Costs about 10€($) and is really simple to install.
    But if you stick to the Softmod thing, just google for the needed file.
     
  5. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Last time I checked, there wasn't a section labeled... "GameCube".

    As for the other post, thanks for your input... I'm still researching. I got the GCOS .dol file and I know there's a .dol to .gci converter so I'll probably go look for that. Apparently I'm supposed to change the master code on my action replay and load the new .gci file from the nre master code and bam, GCOS should pop up allowing me to play backups.
     
  6. fogbank

    Member fogbank GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    It's been a really long time, but I think you're taking the wrong approach.

    Use the GCOS .dol file with AR (or MaxDrive Pro) and an SD card adaptor to load GCOS. Then you can boot backups from GCOS.

    I think the .GCI file is for making a GCOS bootable disc, which you could only boot with a modchip anyway.

    Again, it's been a looong time, but that is my recollection.
     
  7. lll

    Member lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What fogbank said. The way I did it about a year ago was to use my SD Media Loader disc to run the GCOS .dol. Eventually I tired of it and installed a XenoGC.

    Also, the correct forum is this one: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showforum=165
     
  8. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    I dont even think you checked, because it was right in front of your face
     
  9. mousex

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    I hate it when people say: "I'm on a mac do this or that for me." Come on. We mac users have darwine, bootcamp and parallels. And even if you still use a ppc you could run virtual pc.
     

Share This Page