GameCube is dead, maybe someone has a clue why?

Discussion in 'Nintendo GameCube' started by cyrex, Jun 2, 2009.

Jun 2, 2009
  1. cyrex
    OP

    Member cyrex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Germany
    I started playing a game on my Game Cube but i stopped playing after a minute (didnt even enter the game itself) and pressed the reset button).
    Later when i wanted to play again the gamecube did nothing. The red power LED doesnt light up and i dont get any signal on my tv (stays black) BUT i can hear the fan spinning. Also the disc doesn't spin. I already disassembled it to check if some wires are broken or some connectors became loose but couldnt find anything. It does nothing but spinning the fan now. Maybe someone can give me a hint what it could be. Maybe it's a know issue?
    Thx for your help.
     
  2. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
  3. cyrex
    OP

    Member cyrex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks for your help, didn't help to clean it from dust. I completely disassembled it and reassembled it to check if there became any wire loose but it still wont work. Now i bought a replacement one with a defect laser (since i know that my laser is fine) and i will try to swap my drive into it and see if it works then.
     
  4. roguetrip

    Member roguetrip GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    I remember reading about bad solder connections on the power supply, I can't remember if it was in the power brick or in the cube. Maybe someone else has a better memory of it.
     
  5. cyrex
    OP

    Member cyrex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Germany
    i also thought about the power supply (brick) first. But the fan is still running. Maybe it's just partially broken ... but i have no chance to measure it because i dont have the tools. Maybe i should have tried with another powersupply first ^^. Thx for the hint ill check that.
     

Share This Page