Gamecube backups not loading

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by segasaturn, Jan 29, 2010.

Jan 29, 2010
  1. segasaturn
    OP

    Newcomer segasaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Having trouble getting NeoGamma/GCN Backup loader to read discs. Burning memorex DVD-R with imgburn at 2x with verify toggled off.
    I've tried with three discs now, one a multi-boot and the other two are just regular games. NeoGamma's giving me an error -1051 and Backup Loader is saying there's no DVD.

    I used mios patcher with v8 and gcnbackup + wiibackup along with IOS38r17.

    Wii's version's 4.1 and it's LU61, loads via USB just fine.

    How do I fix this?
     
  2. bladepwnedyou

    Member bladepwnedyou GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Vermont
    Country:
    United States
    I had this problem as well. Still do as a matter of fact. I don't know if its the same exact problem but heres what i did as a solution.

    First i put a ntsc wii game backup in and loaded it with the gamecube backup launcher "WII Music" For example.

    For whatever reason it recognised it, i don't know why seeing as how it was meant for gamecube games, but i went with it. I Ejected the wii backup, put the gamecube backup in the wii and it loaded it with it working, only having the occasional error of it not recognising the wii backup giving an error in which i reset and tried again to have it work.

    Anyways that was my solution, i don't know if your problem is exactly the same as mine was but it sounds pretty similar.
     
  3. segasaturn
    OP

    Newcomer segasaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just tried that, didn't seem to make any difference..
    When trying a real gamecube game, it'll still say that there's no DVD.. and it'll go to a black screen.
     
  4. segasaturn
    OP

    Newcomer segasaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And yes, I have DVDx installed..
     
  5. segasaturn
    OP

    Newcomer segasaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just tried the burnt discs with Dolphin; they all worked. Well, this is quite the conundrum.
     
  6. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,829
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    DVDx has nothing to do with playing backup games. You need it to playing normal Movie-DVDs.

    Use NUS Downloader to grab MIOS v10 and install it. Then use Gamecube Backup Launcher 0.3 Mod and install cMIOS based on MIOSv10 with the included miospatcher. This should do the trick.
     
  7. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. user0002

    Member user0002 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    F1nland
    Country:
    Finland
    Yes, gamecube backups won't work without cmios. But what causes that his real gamecube games don't work either? That's odd.

    I use maxell dvd-r's, had no problems thus fur with GC backups.
     
  9. segasaturn
    OP

    Newcomer segasaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wait, there's a backup launcher 0.3? I can only find the 0.2 version..
     
  10. segasaturn
    OP

    Newcomer segasaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Found the gamecube backup loader 0.3 (mod?) and installed MIOSv10 via WAD and then used the MIOS patch with v10.
    Still didn't seem to do anything ._. still can't read regular GCN discs, either.. plays Wii discs and burnt Wii games just fine, though.

    And the GCN discs are burning correctly, Dolphin's reading them properly.
     
  11. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    reinstall CMIOS

    use Gamecube Launcher 0.2 or 0.3 beta

    why would you use neogamma? 90% people just complain about it, use what works well lol.

    Wynd
     
  12. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Install a fresh ios60 from NUS or dopios see if that gets your originals working 1st
    And the Memorex get rid of them more trouble than they are worth Ritex are cheap but work just fine
     
  13. segasaturn
    OP

    Newcomer segasaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wait, there's a difference between cMIOS and the MIOS patcher that comes with the gamecube backup loader? 'Cause I just reinstalled the mios patch with v10. And I've not been using NeoGamma with these, been using the gamecube backup loader channel.
     
  14. user0002

    Member user0002 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    F1nland
    Country:
    Finland
    I did the patching like Dialexio advises in this thread

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=141439

    and my GC backups work fine.
     
  15. harmor

    Member harmor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    GameCube backups only work when cIOS rev 14 or 17 is installed.
     
  16. segasaturn
    OP

    Newcomer segasaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've used that exact method, yet it's not working. :/
     

Share This Page