game title change

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Gilberd, May 1, 2010.

May 1, 2010

game title change by Gilberd at 4:48 AM (913 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Gilberd
    OP

    Member Gilberd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Taiwan
    is there a way to have a jpg file and make it the titile screen for a game
    or use a program that can make a title screen?
     
  2. DarthNemesis

    Member DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,208
    Country:
    United States
    If the title screen is NSCR format then CrystalTile2 can edit it. Failing that, there are also general purpose tile editors like Tile Molester.
     
  3. Gilberd
    OP

    Member Gilberd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Taiwan
    the title screen is in .cg and .cl format
     
  4. Gilberd
    OP

    Member Gilberd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Taiwan
    i opened the jpg file with it and saved it as .cg file
    but it didn't show anything
     
  5. DarthNemesis

    Member DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,208
    Country:
    United States
    .cg will be indexed color graphic tiles and .cl will be the palette. The most common codecs are 4bpp linear reverse-order and 8bpp.
     
  6. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    To answer more on to the question down load a tile editor (google Tile editor download)
    get yourself Crystaltile2 or tiled or tile molester
    For CT2 open your rom
    view the file system find file with image that needs replacing
    fiddle with settings til image appears insert image and save rom
    change width to 256 and height to 192 change the bpp til the image appears may need to load pallete for image go to pallete beside the properties pane import pallete from image (your new image)
    you may have to change the offset of the image to view it correctly so play with that too of the image still doesn't appear quite right
    then import you image from edit import image then place image where necessary
     

Share This Page