Future 3DS emulator on PC question.

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by SgtThom, Jan 25, 2012.

Jan 25, 2012
  1. SgtThom
    OP

    Member SgtThom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if emulators will still load the entire game in ram for cartridge based games. Really that's impractical even for systems with 8GB of ram. Now we have faster drives and SSDs and high end flash drives that could handle any 3DS cartridge game read speeds. I hope they add an option for loading directly form the drive with emulators. Especially when games get to 4GB in size(Vita already have games like this in the future.).
     


  2. Fyrus

    Member Fyrus Artilleur Carmin

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Marseille - France
    Country:
    France
    As the DS isn't even properly emulated yet (although some games run okay), you shouldn't really worry about a 3DS emulator that soon.
     
  3. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    ...What are you talking about? DS games run great on the PC.
     
    GammaGeorgeX, bart148 and Ammako like this.
  4. Fyrus

    Member Fyrus Artilleur Carmin

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Marseille - France
    Country:
    France
    I don't think I've said "It runs badly", but it's far from being proper.
     
  5. philip11

    Member philip11 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    They work fine ever heard of No$GBA emulator?
     
  6. ScarletCrystals

    Member ScarletCrystals Useless Bunny of Paradise

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Location:
    Bamboo Forest, Gensokyo
    Country:
    Canada
    Fuu....No$ compatibility sucks these days. DeSmuME is much better :ha:
     
    4 people like this.
  7. philip11

    Member philip11 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but No$GBA does not have much or any lag.
     
  8. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    False
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. SgtThom
    OP

    Member SgtThom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States

    You need a good computer to run though.
     
  10. philip11

    Member philip11 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I guess but Xp with like 2GB of RAM is not exactly a good PC.
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    3DS carts have a filesystem, I'm pretty sure they'll just access the various files when needed.

    I'm not even sure that the entire DS rom is loaded into RAM anyway. That'd be unpratical.
     
  12. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Actually it's pretty close to being proper, other than the fact that you're using a computer and that there's no WFC (afaik).
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. SgtThom
    OP

    Member SgtThom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Try testing with a USB(if you have it) and take it out during gameplay. DS roms are pretty small(but for a system like mines. :( Plan on upgrading soon) so they can be loaded into ram.(I couldn't load one of the 512MB games on my system with 768MB of ram). 3DS not so much.
     
  14. Fyrus

    Member Fyrus Artilleur Carmin

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Marseille - France
    Country:
    France
    It's pretty close, but it's still missing some things, that was my point.

    Though I liked how everyone just attacked without questionning what "proper" was.
     
  15. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    What should I try with a USB? :unsure:

    I can't foresee DS emulators loading 512MB games entirely in RAM, but whatever, it's not like I use them, so I can't know for sure :P
     
  16. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    That's because you didn't use the word "proper" properly, we shouldn't have to question your meaning behind it.
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    There's a good chance that ROMs will be loaded into memory. The ROMs take up a few gigabytes each, but if you're not running a machine good enough to have at least 4GB RAM (bare minimum, I'd say, given the largest ROMs right now are 2GB) then you have no business running a 3DS emulator that probably won't even run full speed on a high-end machine.
    Of course, this will change if/when bigger ROMs are dumped.
     
  18. Ben_j

    Member Ben_j GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Country:
    France
    *eternal facepalm*
     
  19. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    You said "As the DS isn't even properly emulated yet" Except it is to the point where emulation is possible.

    And that was the point of this thread.
     
  20. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe in 2D mode, but even with a 3D monitor, 3D would be pushing it.

    Some DS games aren't even properly emulated yet...
     

Share This Page