Free mcboot

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Scorpin200, Apr 2, 2010.

Apr 2, 2010

Free mcboot by Scorpin200 at 8:46 PM (1,676 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Scorpin200
    OP

    Banned Scorpin200 Iceman

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    What version ps2 do you need to run this, because it's not running games on mine.

    ps2 V.4
     
  2. gtmtnbiker

    Member gtmtnbiker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    United States
    All fats and most slims (those manufactured before March 2008) can work.

    If you get the Free McBoot menu, then it's working. If you are playing backup games, they need to be patched with ESR.

    You'll need to give more specifics about what you did and what you observe.
     
  3. mpg187

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    Wrong section and you can use HD Loader instead of ESR...
     
  4. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not if you don't have a Network Adapter and and IDE HDD you can't. From the topic title i expect TC means burnt backups which means ESR Patched or nothing.
     
  5. CrashmanX

    Member CrashmanX Current project: SD Gundam G Generation Overworld

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    Not if you dont have a HDD to load from, plus thats usually slower than actually just burning the games, and it saves you HDD space to be used for other things.

    OP: Doesnt really matter what PS2 so long as its pre March-08. From what I've heard they have something on them to prevent FreeMCBoot. Also wrong section as this is the PSP not PS2 section.
     
  6. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rubbish. Since we're in the PSP section i suppose you think UMD's load data faster than ISO's right?
     
  7. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If you are ESR patching the games and you installed ESR.elf to your memory card then it should boot to ESR options GUI when you insert disc
     
  8. mpg187

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    Does the OP have a slim PS2? I don't know if they do. Assuming they had a fat one they could use HD Loader, but assuming slim then they would only be able to use ESR.

    But I don't think it would be faster to play games off a disc than a hard drive.

    What would you put on a PS2 hard drive other than games? If I would want music or something I would use USB Drives for that...
     
  9. CrashmanX

    Member CrashmanX Current project: SD Gundam G Generation Overworld

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    No, just last I heard it wasnt really recommended to me that I use HDD loader unless I have like a really fast HDD because it would load slower than a burnt disc. I haven't actually tried myself though.
     
  10. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have 2 PS2's, 3 Network Adapters, 4 PS2 IDE HDD's, moderate on a PS2 HDL related site and can confidently say you heard, and advised, wrong.
     
  11. mpg187

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    I have 2 PS2s but one is broken. I have 3 network adapters and 3 hard drives I use (2 40s and a 120 GB). They mostly have the same games, it's just a fault tolerant thing. The 120 GB I was supposed to see, but they guy never paid for it...
     
  12. CrashmanX

    Member CrashmanX Current project: SD Gundam G Generation Overworld

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have to put everything so bluntly/Mean? I mean really, I'm sorry a made a newbie mistake, big deal....
     
  13. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have zero real idea you're not in a position to advise someone who's asking for help. He wanted some advice, not something you just made up. You might think it's blunt but why make a post to help someone when you have no knowledge yourself?
     
  14. mpg187

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't think they were being mean, they just said that what you heard was wrong.
     
  15. CrashmanX

    Member CrashmanX Current project: SD Gundam G Generation Overworld

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    I do have knowledge in this area thanks much, and it wasnt something I "just made up" I had heard it from a few friends on other forums.
     
  16. justinefremlouw

    Member justinefremlouw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Chi Town
    Country:
    United States
    ^ misinformed is worse than uninformed.

    From the TC's post, it sounds like the games not being ESR patched is the problem
     

Share This Page