framedrops

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by nico445, Apr 30, 2011.

Apr 30, 2011

framedrops by nico445 at 12:18 AM (830 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    soo i have a new pc been using it for like a week [​IMG]
    specs :
    MSI 770-C45
    Asus ATI EAH5770
    1TB HD Western Digital.
    CPU AMD Athlon2 X4 645 (3,10 GHZ)
    4 GB Kingston DDR3 Ram

    Now when starting a game like gta iv it loads. and after it's done loading i get massive framedrops
    it's like 5 fps i guess. then after a minute or two it runs smooth.. setting things on low graphics etc doesn't help
    is there another way to fix it?
     
  2. I2aven's_Sag

    Member I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt it, it's probably just your processor adjusting to the workload placed upon it by GTA IV. Look in the bios and see if there are any power saving options enabled, though.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What sort of AV program do you have? If it's doing an intensive scan when you launch the program (if it's being all overprotective) then that could be a serious resource drain (if it's got an advanced RAM scan) until it's done. For lesser programs like notepad you wouldn't notice it, but for a CPU hog like GTAIV it's likely to be killer.
     
  4. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nod32, I always disable it before I start games. weird thing a friend of mine
    has a computer that has lower spec's but he doesn't have the problems with
    the exact same gta installation..
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just going from gut instinct, it sounds like it's most likely the HDD causing the lag spike as it tries to build up the cache for the game resources. It could also be the CPU trying to catch up on the handles the game demands or the RAM being slower than it should be, but most likely the HDD.

    My last computer did the same when playing Phantasy Star Universe, although that computer was using a SeaGate HDD that died a week after I built my new computer.
     
  6. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    HDD could be it i just chose the one with the biggest cache, http://www.yourpcstore.nl/shop2/39-1000gb-...0ears-64-s.html
    is that a bad one , or okay? [​IMG]
     
  7. OmegaVesko

    Member OmegaVesko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    Try disabling background processes one by one, see if that helps. Also keep an eye on the CPU and RAM usage.
     
  8. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    my pc is still pretty clean so it doesn't have much on the background to disable
     
  9. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm... That HDD isn't bad, although they don't mention whether it's caviar black or blue. I'm too lazy to check the model number against the WD catalogue.

    Anyway, the HDD cache is not the same as a game cache. I wont bother going into the details, but suffice to say that the game cache stores all the active data being used by the level (character models, cars, locations of all the NPCs, randomly generated traffic, etc). Normally the cache is built whilst the level is loading, however when there's extra data randomly generated (like the exact location of all the traffic and NPCs), that has to be loaded to the cache after the loading screen. Most of this is stored in the RAM and the less time dependant data stored on the page file (iirc).

    Then again, if your friend has no such problems then it's not likely to be this.
     
  10. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it's one of the caviar green serie's . i'll check my bios in the next reboot and see if i can fix anything there:P
     
  11. moose3

    Member moose3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    NC
    Country:
    United States
    If I remember, the green has a variable disk speed 'feature' to save power, so I'm guessing it's the HD trying to decide on how fast it needs to spin initially. So If you have another HD (7200 rpm+, or a SSD), I'd suggest using that for your OS/current games and save that 1TB drive for data/storage (move game install folders over to it when you need to free up space but don't want to completely uninstall them, and move back when you want to play the game).
     
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I missed the update. Caviar green is their low power series. The variable disk speed feature doesn't save much power, but it does reduce heat. This does cause a drop in performance, but it's not enough to explain such a long frame drop. Caviar green is better suited for long running/low power applications such as external drives, NAS boxes, hot swappable drive bays, etc... The black or blue series are better suited for high performance application like storing games and the OS.
     

Share This Page