found roms in .exe format

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by xjeremyx, Feb 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Feb 3, 2010

found roms in .exe format by xjeremyx at 4:58 PM (4,067 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. xjeremyx
    OP

    Newcomer xjeremyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    what am i to do with those? i'm completely dumb founded at this .exe stuff. i thought they were all supposed to be .nds but lately i've been coming across almost exclusively .exe strangely they seem to have the ds as the icon. what's the deal with this?
     


  2. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Obviously a virus. You scanned it? Or are you applying a patch?
     
  3. StorMyu

    Member StorMyu "I'm too old for this"

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    892
    Country:
    France
    and if it's not a virus just rename .nds and try...
     
  4. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lolno, that's not how it works.
     
  5. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Looks the same like the Picture virus
    Orginally .jpg
    and Than .exe
     
  6. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    yeah its a virus. roms should not, and do not come in .exe format.
     
  7. xjeremyx
    OP

    Newcomer xjeremyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    that's a super bummer. honestly with such a small community what kind of dork would think this would be a great idea? i'd already tried the .exe to .nds rename as once in a great long while that has worked for other things. i figured it was a virus, but i got in this back in the cyclo ds days. and recently got an r4i, wondered if it had anything to do with that games engine thing.
     
  8. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you have 7zip you could try extracting it to see if it is an archive? doubtful though
     
  9. haflore

    Member haflore aeternaliter fluxa

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    United States
    It might be a self-extracting archive, if so you could try running it. But it may well be a virus, so just redownload it from somewhere else.
     
  10. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    don't just RUN it ffs
     
  11. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Back up your own games, they are created in .nds format [​IMG]
     
  12. haflore

    Member haflore aeternaliter fluxa

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not saying he should run it, it would be far safer to just get it somewhere else, it's just an option, albeit a very bad one.
     
  13. BanditKing

    Newcomer BanditKing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    It's a trojan virus!
     
  14. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] Back in the Cyclo DS days...

    That's all I wanted to say. Please do go on.

    Edit: No, wait! Besides not knowing what cart to buy you also obviously don't know where to get roms from.
     
  15. xjeremyx
    OP

    Newcomer xjeremyx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    my cyclo cart stopped working. it'd be 80% unlikely to launch anytime you turned it on. real shame. got DSis for wife and kids at xmas and the r4i seemed to be the wisest choice
     
  16. Dark Blade

    Member Dark Blade Flippin' Insane

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Inside a Pokeball.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dude that is DEFINITELY a virus. Try deleting it. If it returns after a while it's proven. Fire up your antivirus!

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    And the R4i is not the wisest choice. Its the dumbest choice.
     
  18. Dark Blade

    Member Dark Blade Flippin' Insane

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Inside a Pokeball.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Amen. [​IMG]
     
  19. dan80315

    Member dan80315 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    ^.

    I pity the fool who gets screwed over by one of those.
     
  20. Big Kong Boss

    Member Big Kong Boss GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    U.S.
    Country:
    Korea, South
    acekard2i or m3i zero
    also this is the wrong board to even discuss flashcarts
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page