Hacking Formating micro sd card after sky 3ds

Ryane

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
51
Country
United States
When you use the software to format the micro sd card, it is only
> > useable in the sky3ds, you can't use windows to format the micro sd card
> > to be useable in anything like a camera, it displays that it is a 512kb
> > card instead of 4gb, if you go back to the program it still sees it as
> > 4gb, but it is not useable in anything else, the same thing happened to
> > the 32gb and other 4gb, card, I know this problem does not happen with
> > the gateway card as my friend has one of those. Thanks for your help
 

Ryane

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
51
Country
United States
When I tried it is saying the card is write protected. it is in a usb adapter so it is not write protected. i have tried using paragon hard disk manager 15 premium and you can see it shows up as a 32 gb micro sd card, but nothing will format it back.
thread 3.JPG
thread 4.JPG
 

MidLevelCrisis

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
116
Trophies
0
XP
140
Country
Netherlands
The Sky 3ds Discwriter that formatted the card to its own system can also restore it to windows, use the REFORMAT button, it will restore the normal file system. After that just to be sure right click the card in windows and format again, you can now choose FAT, FAT32, NTSF and data cluster size.

No need for guides or other programs
 

azakhan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
141
Trophies
1
XP
265
Country
The Sky 3ds Discwriter that formatted the card to its own system can also restore it to windows, use the REFORMAT button, it will restore the normal file system. After that just to be sure right click the card in windows and format again, you can now choose FAT, FAT32, NTSF and data cluster size.

No need for guides or other programs
I did this, and when I right clicked to reformat it, it failed to do so. I then tried to format it in CMD, when I selected it (disk 1) and typed 'clean' it said 'Virtual disk service error: there is no media in the device'. Sd card formatter won't even recognize it, and neither will (sky3ds') diskwriter. Hope somebody can help!
 

Joshwraith

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
1
XP
271
Country
Mexico
I did this, and when I right clicked to reformat it, it failed to do so. I then tried to format it in CMD, when I selected it (disk 1) and typed 'clean' it said 'Virtual disk service error: there is no media in the device'. Sd card formatter won't even recognize it, and neither will (sky3ds') diskwriter. Hope somebody can help!

Run Discwritter as administrator and try again, just right click the icon and "run as administrator", I think it need elevated permission to reformat the card.
 

azakhan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
141
Trophies
1
XP
265
Country
Run Discwritter as administrator and try again, just right click the icon and "run as administrator", I think it need elevated permission to reformat the card.
I always run as admin by right clicking. It won't let me click 'go', won't recognise it.
 

azakhan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
141
Trophies
1
XP
265
Country
I did, I followed this guide:
http://www.tomsguide.com/faq/id-247...matable-working-formated-general-methods.html

but it said 'Virtual disk service error: there is no media in the device'

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Did you try another card adapter, those microsd to SD adapter are faulty you should try with another if nothing above works.
It still works fine with every other sd card
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,421
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,086
Country
Norway
When I tried it is saying the card is write protected. it is in a usb adapter so it is not write protected. i have tried using paragon hard disk manager 15 premium and you can see it shows up as a 32 gb micro sd card, but nothing will format it back.View attachment 15410View attachment 15411
When you use SDFormatter to reformat a card fully you should set format size adjustment to ON.
It might solve the issue, or it might not.
 

Spider_Man

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2015
Messages
3,933
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
5,201
Country
United States
i know this is old, but ive just ran into a problem with my sky3ds+

i noticed i had a fake card and would pack in now and then so decided to buy a 16gb card, i copied everything off the fake over to the new card (formatted FAT32 and tried setting as 32kb and 64kb) and when i insert new sd card it just flashes rainbow colours.

I had already updated the cart to what i think is the latest firmware 140.

if i insert the fake sd card it works and can cycle through the games
if i insert the new (not fake) sd card its leds always flash rainbow colours and nothing happens.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Thank God we are 20 states away from each tho. Kenny's almost neighbors with him.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I live in kc you dingus
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ok still closer to him than me, perv boi
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Not to mention you guys share the same last name.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I thought you were Mrs.bigboi
    +2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh twice divorced, I took my maiden name
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Mrs. bigancientboi?
    +2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ms. now, We divorced.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd keep the Mrs. He's got more years on you
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    The end of this game, in the house, is like Texas chainsaw massacre house, is crazy. I just gotta find Chris n kill him.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Damn it, Chris was not the original werewolf.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I didn't think I'd like these dumb xreals but being able to use my phone while having a big screen floating about is pretty cool
    +1
  • duskfall @ duskfall:
    :yaysp:these emojis are great
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    site was down again
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, It was many hours ago.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Costello or Shaun fixed it. Hopefully this doesn't happen again lol.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, 1) Hi rez 2) I was asleep when it got fixed lol
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, I was up at around 3 when it was down lol.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ,
    I normally don't use electronic devices in the early morning, and my medication makes me sleep heavy.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, If Mario is on a mixture of LSD and shrooms.
    +1
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    hey everyone
    idkwhereisthisname @ idkwhereisthisname: yo