First DS MMORPG!

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Clintorion, Jan 18, 2009.

Jan 18, 2009

First DS MMORPG! by Clintorion at 6:42 AM (14,235 Views / 0 Likes) 56 replies

  1. Clintorion
    OP

    Newcomer Clintorion Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT> It appears my host is having issues. Sorry if there's severe hang time or it doesn't load! I'm looking for a better host. Any suggestions?

    I believe this is, indeed, the first real-time mmorpg playable on DS!
    I started this little project just to see if my idea would work.
    Here's the disappointing part: It's not a download!
    You have to point your Opera DS browser to the site: http://mmorpg.clint.f-sw.com
    All is done with CSS, Javascript and PHP.


    Here's a quick screenie:
    [​IMG]

    The icons on the right do the following (in order from top to bottom):
    (speech bubble) - opens/closes chat
    (inventory) - shows items. cannot open equip yet, but there are items to equip, which open the equipment when you click them.
    (fight screen) - displays battle text, shows stats of enemy.
    (player info) - click this to see the stats of whoever you have selected. Used to initiate fighting and alternate way to send PMs in game.
    (pvp switch) - turn pvp on/off. green=on, red=off. Some areas are no pvp, some are forced pvp.
    (X) - Logout of the game. (you must log out, failing to do so causes problems when you try to log back in)
    (refresh) - refreshes the game whenever you want (automatically done every couple seconds)

    Well, I hope you enjoy the very first DS compatible MMORPG!
    If you have any comments or questions, please send them to
    FriQ@ymail.com (pronounced "freak")


    Edit>>
    Chat Commands:
    s] [message] - Shouts a message to all characters in the game.
    ][charactername] [message] - Private message

    Examples:
    s] Hey, what's up?
    "Player (s): Hey, what's up?" - seen by all players.

    ]Mario Hey, come fight me.
    On Luigi's screen: "[PM] from Luigi: Hey, come fight me."

    Edit> This is NOT my life long project, just a proof of concept really. If somebody wants to invest time into an mmorpg like this, I suggest starting from scratch. I'm not all too fluent in PHP, and I can't code anything else really.
    Also, just so you know: this does NOT work on DSOrganize browser or Bunjaloo, and you must use overview mode on DS Browser.

    FIXED> Error in the starting room was caused by monsters moving off the map. They can no longer do this, thus no error!
    FIXED> The log in error on DS. It's working now! The only issue with the game on DS is the browser selects the grid squares, and whichever one is selected is highlighted yellow, so you can't see the square. Just a small annoyance. Remember: be patient. Javascript is pretty darn slow on DS browser.

    EDIT> Quick guide! http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=130286
     


  2. SoulAnger

    Member SoulAnger MENUdo's Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    743
    Country:
    Philippines
    Wow thats awesome [​IMG]
     
  3. bolton2

    Member bolton2 bolton2

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Everywhere and Nowhere :P
    Country:
    United States
    Indeed, can anyone say neopets.com for the ds browser j/k [​IMG]

    seriously though GJ
     
  4. Clintorion
    OP

    Newcomer Clintorion Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
  5. Dwight

    Member Dwight Gawb. Gawb Bluth.

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Washington State
    Country:
    United States
    Great idea. I'll be trying that for sure.

    I'm testing it on my browser would you mind explaining how to navigate the game? I can't move >.
     
  6. Ein-kun

    Newcomer Ein-kun Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Philippines
    Very nice! [​IMG]

    One question though, you specifically mentioned "Opera DS Browser". Does that mean other homebrew browsers wouldn't work?
     
  7. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Wow this is great I'm gonna try it when I get my wireless router back working!. It works in normal browsers, a stickie would be good [​IMG].

    @Dwight: You tap to move
     
  8. Gore

    Member Gore GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Country:
    United States
    I closed the window without logging off and now I am stuck online.

    Nevermind, working again.
     
  9. Dwight

    Member Dwight Gawb. Gawb Bluth.

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Washington State
    Country:
    United States
    For some raisin it wasn't working at first.
     
  10. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i can do one better than a stickie, how about a front page post!

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=130188

    whats the trick to logging in on the nds? my opera browser isn't responding to button clicks. i can enter login info into the boxes, but thats as far as i can get. i tried in both 'overview mode' and 'ssr' mode. i can't seem to be able to click on any of the buttons.

    -another world
     
  11. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh shiz I forgot to log out @_@!!!1
     
  12. Isaiah

    Member Isaiah The Conductor

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Country:
    Australia
    is forgetting to log out bad?

    Anyway GJ Very GJ so... this only works on opera?
     
  13. impulseBE

    Newcomer impulseBE Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Belgium
    you forgot to add a lvl 1 mob [​IMG]
     
  14. .:drk_drgn:.

    Member .:drk_drgn:. rawr

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    holy wakamoly, i want to try this but the servers are off! D;
     
  15. Shichibukai

    Member Shichibukai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Teeworlds!
    Country:
    Spain
    great just what i wanted i mean really thanks! You are the best!

    Only one Con you should put a name
     
  16. Eponasoft

    Newcomer Eponasoft Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    The graphics could surely use some work.
     
  17. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sam here...
     
  18. sleight

    Newcomer sleight Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    Germany
    same here =/

    sounds cool but i need to get the browser first
     
  19. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    :]
    great idea!
    if you need any help, feel free to ask
    we have a lot of good programmers and tech savvy peeps on here lol
     
  20. wackygoose

    Newcomer wackygoose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Brazil
    wait.... did you say javascript? i heard that that javascript and portables dont mix very well

    please correct me if im wrong...

    and sorry if what im saying is dumb/bs

    EDIT:

    oh lol... i had this feeling..

    i was wrong.. what wont work is flash...
     

Share This Page