Firmware Updater 4.3b Offline Help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Link2356, Sep 11, 2011.

Sep 11, 2011
  1. Link2356
    OP

    Newcomer Link2356 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, I need help installing the Firmware Updater 4.3b on my wii offline. Can someone please give me some Instuctions on how to install it using offline? Thanks! [​IMG]
     


  2. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Just use dop-mii to update to 4.3U, and make sure you install a NON-STUB IOS 80. Since you want to do the upgrade offline you'll need NUS Downloader to get the SM43.WAD & IOS80.WAD (wad names may vary)

    Oh, and I would install priiloader (0.7) first, just in case.
     
  3. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    If you're looking to update your Wii, I recommend ModMii.
     
  4. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    update sys menu .... why?

    for latest games you can update only usb loader + cios
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Updating removes Priiloader.

    @Link2356: There is no reason to update, unless you just want to risk a brick and block certain homebrew. There are 0 benefits past 4.1, just drawbacks.
     
  6. Link2356
    OP

    Newcomer Link2356 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Okay...The real reason I wanted to update is because I wanted to get a certain option on the priiloader 0.7 on 4.2u firmware. (The Force Wii Connection Test Failure) I wanted to see if it is set to ENABLE because for so reason for few months ago after installing some new things, I couldn't connect online. So yeah.
     
  7. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if that is the cause, but it won't hurt to check. Press POWER, then press and hold RESET until Priiloader comes up. Check System Menu Hacks to see if the hack is enabled.
     
  8. Link2356
    OP

    Newcomer Link2356 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    That's the thing. For some reason, it's not one of the options on my system hacks for 4.2u.
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Then it isn't enabled. You don't even have it as an option. Neither your System Menu or Priiloader hacks are related to your internet problem.
     
  10. Link2356
    OP

    Newcomer Link2356 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Great......Just when I thought I was gonna finally solve my wifi problem.
     
  11. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    DOP-MII will detect priiloader & preserve it once update begins
     
  12. Link2356
    OP

    Newcomer Link2356 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I'm just gonna update anyway. But the only problem now is getting the SM43.WAD. I couldn't find it in the NUS downloader.
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Wrong. That isn't possible. Priiloader is part of the System Menu and is removed when you update/reinstall.

    @Link2356: Updating will NOT fix anything. It is completely unrelated to any internet issues you are having. How about you tell us what error you are getting when you try to connect.
     
  14. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Are you a developer you know that much?

    Do this, and you'll understand everything you can't understand can even be done . [​IMG]
     
  15. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    You don't have to be a developer to know that overwriting the System Menu is going to replace all of the System Menu, lol. I don't know where you got the idea that Dop-Mii didn't touch Priiloader, but you are wrong. Priiloader can't help you recover from a full brick.
     
  16. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  17. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    As I stated before, Priiloader and the System Menu are unrelated to the internet problem. The OP needs to tell me what the error is.
     
  18. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    He's not wrong, you are. Use the source, Luke. Stop foaming at the mouth any time anyone wants to update too.
     
  19. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I stand corrected, I apologize Coto. I haven't use Dop-Mii in a long time, and shouldn't have assumed that it still overwrote Priiloader.

    @tueidj and Coto: While my assumption on Priiloader being removed was wrong, I still think that updating is unnecessary. Do you think that updating the System Menu will fix the internet issue? This is a serious question and I would like to know your opinions on the matter.

    If so, and he does update, somebody will need to give him instructions for doing an offline update with Dop-Mii.
     
  20. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    If the system menu has been patched permanently with something like startpatch (or one of wanky's fail updaters that patches the system menu during installation) to make the wifi connection test always fail, then yes updating the system menu would fix it.
     

Share This Page