Firefox 3.0 RC2

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Urza, Jun 4, 2008.

Jun 4, 2008

Firefox 3.0 RC2 by Urza at 12:05 PM (3,823 Views / 0 Likes) 47 replies

  1. Urza
    OP

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States


  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,656
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Yay. Thanks Urza [​IMG]
     
  3. krazykirk

    Member krazykirk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yay! This is exciting! [​IMG]
     
  4. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    So what's the advantages of using this over firefox 2? I used it for a few minutes and didn't really see an advantage, plus I hated that new address bar thing, and then went back to FF2 where all of my addons work.

    However if you can outline some advantages that require me to take another looks at FF3, I'll try it again. I still have it installed and such.
     
  5. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't like the feature changes from 2 to 3, then don't use 3. Nobody really cares what you use ultimately. I personally like the new address bar features. I like the features implemented in the bookmark menu in RC1 that weren't there in Beta5. Plugins like flash and other media seem more stable with each release in Linux and Mac (haven't used Windows since version 3 came out, so no point of comparison).

    The lack of google toolbar is a downside, but otherwise there aren't any add-ons that I used to use that don't work or have analogous versions that do work. 3 seems to work a little better on my much lower end office computer running Mac than version 2, but on my home computer there was nothing really sluggish about version 2. In Linux they're both screaming fast so nothing noticeably different for me.
     
  6. matriculated

    Member matriculated GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Canada
    For me, I really like the page zoom (scales the entire page instead of only text in FF2) and the smaller memory footprint.
     
  7. Saylient_Dreams

    Member Saylient_Dreams GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using FF3 seriously since b5, when rc1 came out it seem much more less stable. Rc2 however seems pretty stable, doesn't crash on my a bazillion times like rc1 did (b5 hardly crashed like rc2). Speed of FF3 I think is noticeable if you're looking for it, same with startup of the program. Apparently this also uses less memory than FF2, and is supposedly the fastest browser out there for rendering web pages with javascript I believe. If you don't like the new buttons, and want a smaller interface, switch the icons to small icons in the settings. Also if you want your add-ons to work you can do some about:config setting, and set it up to bypass add-on checks. So far even add-ons that aren't "compatible" work well from what I can tell. I'm enjoying it so far.
     
  8. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Alright. I was just making sure there wasn't anything awesome that I missed in my 5-minute test of it.
    I have 4GBs of ram on this computer so memory usage generally isn't a problem, though I probably will install it just for that on my laptop.
     
  9. Urza
    OP

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
  10. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,395
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I tried RC1 on linux and the default font size were bigger than FF2.
    My website menu had the text out of the place it should be.

    Does it does this on Windows too ?
    I don't want to test it on windows yet, because it's said on mozilla website that FF3 will install ontop of FF2 and it will be unstable to go back to FF2 by reinstalling ontop.

    Is there a way to install FF3 on another profile whithout touching FF2 profile and using both in the same time ? (saving the FF2 profile could do the job, right ?)
     
  11. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm trying out RC2 right now, It is great.
     
  12. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Which themes are you using?d The default windows one is ugly, and it needs a better looking replacement
     
  13. Panzer Tacticer

    Member Panzer Tacticer veteran human

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,222
    Location:
    Right Here
    Country:
    Canada
    I run my Firefox off of my Sandisk Micro Cruiser, so I'm waiting till it gets the access to FF3.

    I stopped allowing web browsers on my computer a while back.

    IE? what IE?
     
  14. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm still using RC1, and I haven't had any crashes since that came out. But I'm sure it's faster than FF2, and looks marginally better. I'm too lazy to download RC2, so I'll just wait for the real thing.
     
  15. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    thx urza
     
  16. Maverick_z

    Member Maverick_z When did i join again??

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    590
    Country:
    Canada
  17. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  18. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    I will use FF3 when it is completely stable since i don't find any reason to change FF2 at the moment
     
  19. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    I assume you can download FF3 without actually installing it.

    -Bri
     
  20. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Yes, portable versions.
     

Share This Page