RELEASE Final Fantasy X/X-2 & XII Unpack/Repacker

Discussion in 'Switch - ROM Hacking, Saves, Translations & Tools' started by masagrator, Apr 11, 2019.

  1. pcwizard7

    pcwizard7 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Aug 2, 2013
    Australia
    The features that were added in other FF PC versions like game speedup and skip random encounter
     
  2. masagrator
    OP

    masagrator File digger

    Member
    7
    Oct 14, 2018
    Poland
    There was something in executable about random encounters. Game speedup probably not. I will look at it, but I can't test it if I will find anything. So if I find something, I will send you PM.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    And there is still this
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/final-fantasy-x-x-2-game-settings.535706/

    Noone contfirmed or denied if encounterrate setting is working.
     
  3. masagrator
    OP

    masagrator File digger

    Member
    7
    Oct 14, 2018
    Poland
    Added support for Final Fantasy XII.
    Added support for creating vbf archives.

    For people who want to mod Final Fantasy XII:

    Game uses filesize tables that can be found in
    Code:
    \romfs\filesizetables\nx
    So if you change size of files that are in one of filesizetables, then game may crash in one moment.
    And this file will be probably the biggest issue to apply translations mod etc. because tables looks like this
    Code:
    u32 Magic
    u32 filesize
    u32 filesize
    ...
    So there is no ID for what file is this. PC may has the same order of files as Switch, but different sizes for some files will make swapping impossible to work.
     
    Last edited by masagrator, May 2, 2019
  4. Katkat

    Katkat Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 13, 2015
    France
    Thanks !
     
  5. crudfish

    crudfish Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 19, 2019
    United States
    Hey guys. After importing the Asia version from Play-Asia, thinking it had the option for Japanese Audio and English text, I see now that you're my only hope... :)

    Am I correct that you found a solution @masagrator? I'm super new to this, and haven't installed Homebrew on my Switch yet, but I have done on my 3DS. After I get it on my Switch and install Atmosphere is it too difficult or is it feasible for a newcomer to figure out? I'm learning Japanese and try to hear the language as much as possible.
    Thanks!!
     
  6. masagrator
    OP

    masagrator File digger

    Member
    7
    Oct 14, 2018
    Poland
  7. crudfish

    crudfish Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 19, 2019
    United States
    Thank you so much. I'll give it a shot!
     
  8. Kaybag182

    Kaybag182 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 12, 2018
    Australia
    I'm currently trying to unpack FFXII .vbf file but i keep getting this error in command prompt. Im not the greatest at using command prompt so im assuming im just putting in the commands wrong. anybody able to show me what i have done wrong?


    C:\Users\luke>"C:\Users\luke\Desktop\New folder (7)\EXTRTD_OUTPUT\program\romfs\ffxsw-vbf.exe"
    FFX/X-2/XII Remaster (Switch) vbf tool v1.3 by ffgriever

    Usage: ffxsw-vbf option input output

    Options:
    -c creates output vbf from files in input dir
    (output defaults to {input}.vbf)
    -r replace files in output vbf with files in input dir
    (output defaults to {input}.vbf)
    -u unpack vbf into output dir
    (output defaults to {input}_dir)
    -l use LZ4 instead of default zlib


    C:\Users\luke> -1 - u "C:\Users\luke\Desktop\New folder (7)\EXTRTD_OUTPUT\program\romfs\FFXII_TZA.vbf"
    '-1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
     
  9. masagrator
    OP

    masagrator File digger

    Member
    7
    Oct 14, 2018
    Poland
    there should be small "L", not "1" ("l' from "lz4")
     
  10. Kaybag182

    Kaybag182 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 12, 2018
    Australia
    Worked it out! Thanks for the help.
     
  11. crazyjah2003

    crazyjah2003 Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    Mar 27, 2007
    United States
    I am trying to get this to work without success; here is my command

    D:\age>ffxsw-vbf.exe -l -u "D:\age\FFXII_TZA.vbf"

    It is saying invalid input format

    FFXII_TZA.vbf is a XCI that I renamed... Do I need to get a NSP for it to work? What am I missing?

    My final goal is to get Foreign Lands to work using draklab. Am I out of luck?
     
    Last edited by crazyjah2003, Jun 22, 2019
  12. masagrator
    OP

    masagrator File digger

    Member
    7
    Oct 14, 2018
    Poland
    :ninja:
    :huh:
    Where did you get that idea? You need to unpack FFXII_TZA.vbf from XCI or NSP (doesn't matter which one). :unsure:
     
  13. crazyjah2003

    crazyjah2003 Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    Mar 27, 2007
    United States
    When I try to unpack the xci here is what I get:

    D:\age>ffxsw-vbf.exe -l -u "D:\age\zodiac.xci"
    Reading file structure...
    Error: Invalid input file format
     
  14. masagrator
    OP

    masagrator File digger

    Member
    7
    Oct 14, 2018
    Poland
    Read first two lines and code window of first post.
    Where it says that it supports unpacking xci?
     
  15. crazyjah2003

    crazyjah2003 Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    Mar 27, 2007
    United States
    What can I use to unpack xci and get a vbf?

    Updated Python and my extractor tools seem to be working out; I still don't know how to get the vbf but I made some progress

    Got a NCA file but Im not sure what to do with it yet; I am thinking of trying to extract that as well using hactool but it needs the title key
     
    Last edited by crazyjah2003, Jun 22, 2019
  16. crazyjah2003

    crazyjah2003 Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    Mar 27, 2007
    United States
    Following your xci extraction guide from another thread; I hope it will all work out in the end.
     
  17. HR1Phoenix

    HR1Phoenix Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 16, 2016
    Pardon my ignorance, but could this tool be used to remove the game files for FFX and leave FFX-2, to reduce overall game size?

    If not, is what I’m after even possible or will the game crash without the complete original contents?
     
  18. masagrator
    OP

    masagrator File digger

    Member
    7
    Oct 14, 2018
    Poland
    FFX-2 is separate from FFX except Common_Data.vbf which has only 2GB and it doesn't have visible separation between both games.
    You can just delete FFX-Data.vbf to reduce size about 5,5 GB and ignore button or change in launcher button to always run FF X-2/change in exefs to FFX-2 nro instead of launcher (not sure if second will work)

    FFX-Data.vbf should be loaded only when FFX/Eternal Calm is running. Try to use layeredfs to put there empty file with the same name and try to run game. If launcher is working and it runs FF X-2 without issues, then you know now what to do.
     
    HR1Phoenix likes this.
  19. HR1Phoenix

    HR1Phoenix Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 16, 2016
    Thank you masagrator, I appreciate your detailed reply.
     
Loading...