Homebrew Question File corruption on FAT32

Jellykrop

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
177
Country
United States
Hi,

I'm having troubles with my beloved Switch lately. Firstly, I switched from using SX OS to using Atmosphère. My 256 GB (legit) microSD card was formatted to exFAT.

This summer, I started noticing that a lot of games I installed as NSPs and that were working perfectly were now refusing to launch. About half of the storage was taken, so there was a lot of available space. I linked that problem to file corruption as I was using RetroArch at the time.

I then decided to reformat my microSD to FAT32 (using a window program called FAT32 Format) since FAT32 is less prone to corruption (I've read multiple threads on the subject on this forum). I reinstalled some games' NSP files (very slowly since FAT32 is limited to 4GB files). A day later, some games were again refusing to launch.

I am using the latest release of Atmosphère (0.14.1) on the latest Switch firmware update (10.1.0) and with the latest sigpatches. I'm very desperate at this point and don't know what to do. Can you people please provide me with an explanation to my problem as well as a solution? Thanks in advance
 

GatoFiestero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
213
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
898
Country
Costa Rica
Well this is unusual. What should be happening is that, overall, you have a better experience, as fat32 is ideal for Switch homebrew.
Maybe the quality of your SD card is bad. If it isn't, it may be damaged. You might consider running some tests on it.
Also, make sure your NSP's are okay. That they're not half-downloaded torrents and things like that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jellykrop

Jellykrop

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
177
Country
United States
Well this is unusual. What should be happening is that, overall, you have a better experience, as fat32 is ideal for Switch homebrew.
Maybe the quality of your SD card is bad. If it isn't, it may be damaged. You might consider running some tests on it.
Also, make sure your NSP's are okay. That they're not half-downloaded torrents and things like that.
Thanks for your answer. My microSD card is a Samsung EVO bought from Amazon (sold and shipped by Amazon) so it's a legit card (I was very careful when I bought it) and its read-write speeds were sufficient. I almost never get it out of the Switch so I doubt that it could be physically damaged :unsure:
Another hypothesis of mine is that the program I used to format it to FAT32 is faulty and maybe it screwed up the file system, but I don't even know if it's possible.
I installed the NSPs in question using Goldleaf over USB (Quark) and for all the games it told me "this NSP seems official". What's even weirder is that the games used to work for months and months and are know getting corrupted upon re-install :wacko:

How can I run tests on my card to see if it's damaged?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Supreme23

TheCasualties

Just trying to be helpful
Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
440
Trophies
0
Location
The Bardo Islands
XP
473
Country
Netherlands
You can try using hekate's "archive bit fixer". It's not guaranteed to fix your corrupted games but it might work.

IIRC load into Hekate, click tools, then there is a line on the bottom right that says something like "archive bit.." and some other stuff. Click that line then run that bit fixer and you might get lucky!

Good luck.

You could also try a different installer like Awoo, but if they were working at first that is probably not the issue.

PS: H2TestW is good for checking for card errors. But it can take a very long time if it's a large GB card. So try the archive bit thing first.
 
Last edited by TheCasualties,
  • Like
Reactions: Jellykrop

Jellykrop

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
177
Country
United States
You can try using hekate's "archive bit fixer". It's not guaranteed to fix your corrupted games but it might work.

IIRC load into Hekate, click tools, then there is a line on the bottom right that says something like "archive bit.." and some other stuff. Click that line then run that bit fixer and you might get lucky!

Good luck.

You could also try a different installer like Awoo, but if they were working at first that is probably not the issue.

PS: H2TestW is good for checking for card errors. But it can take a very long time if it's a large GB card. So try the archive bit thing first.
Thanks for the tip ^_^ I don't mind having to re-install my games, I don't really need to recover the files since I have them on my hard drive. I would just like my games to stop corrupting on their own, and maybe checking the integrity of the file system is the first step. This corruption happens right after the installation. In system settings I used the tool provided by Nintendo under "Data Management" to check for corrupted files and indeed it tells me that some data is corrupted, even if the game has never been ran before and that no homebrew besides Goldleaf has ever been used. Weird. :wacko:
 

TheCasualties

Just trying to be helpful
Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
440
Trophies
0
Location
The Bardo Islands
XP
473
Country
Netherlands
Well in that case, I'd still try the archive bit fixer first. You wouldn't have to reinstall if that works.

If it doesn't work try reinstalling them with a different installer. Goldleaf is great for many things, but it's installer isn't the most reliable.

Just to make sure, you aren't using homebrew 'Applet Mode' are you? Installers sometimes mess up w/o the full RAM access.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jellykrop

Jellykrop

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
177
Country
United States
Well in that case, I'd still try the archive bit fixer first. You wouldn't have to reinstall if that works.

If it doesn't work try reinstalling them with a different installer. Goldleaf is great for many things, but it's installer isn't the most reliable.

Just to make sure, you aren't using homebrew 'Applet Mode' are you? Installers sometimes mess up w/o the full RAM access.
OMG you're right, I completely forgot about Applet Mode! Thanks a lot! But if no game is installed, I can't press R on a game to give Goldleaf full RAM access...
 
Last edited by Jellykrop,
  • Like
Reactions: TheCasualties

TheCasualties

Just trying to be helpful
Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
440
Trophies
0
Location
The Bardo Islands
XP
473
Country
Netherlands
  • Like
Reactions: Jellykrop

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,543
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,442
Country
United States
Hi,

I'm having troubles with my beloved Switch lately. Firstly, I switched from using SX OS to using Atmosphère. My 256 GB (legit) microSD card was formatted to exFAT.

This summer, I started noticing that a lot of games I installed as NSPs and that were working perfectly were now refusing to launch. About half of the storage was taken, so there was a lot of available space. I linked that problem to file corruption as I was using RetroArch at the time.

I then decided to reformat my microSD to FAT32 (using a window program called FAT32 Format) since FAT32 is less prone to corruption (I've read multiple threads on the subject on this forum). I reinstalled some games' NSP files (very slowly since FAT32 is limited to 4GB files). A day later, some games were again refusing to launch.

I am using the latest release of Atmosphère (0.14.1) on the latest Switch firmware update (10.1.0) and with the latest sigpatches. I'm very desperate at this point and don't know what to do. Can you people please provide me with an explanation to my problem as well as a solution? Thanks in advance

Have you done a H2testw test on the card?
 

Jellykrop

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
177
Country
United States
Have you done a H2testw test on the card?
Not yet, I don't have access to the Switch right now, but I'll try when I get back home.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Oof I never thought about that.. So it won't launch homebrew menu if you try to launch with a corrupt game?

Maybe this thread can help. It's a HBmenu launcher as an NSP. Maybe you can install that in applet mode.
https://gbatemp.net/threads/homebrew-menu-loader-legal-nsp.518433/
Thank you so much! I'll give it a try ^_^
 
  • Like
Reactions: TheCasualties

Jellykrop

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
177
Country
United States
Copy all the data off to a computer and run a H2testw test on the card with no data on it, it will tell you if the card is legit or not.
Ok thanks, I'll do it. I doubt it isn't legit though, it's sold and shipped by Amazon. They probably don't sell the type of junk you find on Wish lol :rofl2:
 
  • Like
Reactions: hammer300

Jellykrop

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
177
Country
United States
Amazon shares inventory, including stuff with FBA from what I understand. So you could still get a fake card even through them.
I didn't know that. But if it were a fake one I would suspect it to perform very badly. Yet read and write speeds are fast and I filled half the card already (120 GB out of 256) before getting into trouble.
 

jesterscourt

Not Brad.
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
2,322
Trophies
0
XP
1,024
Country
United States
I didn't know that. But if it were a fake one I would suspect it to perform very badly. Yet read and write speeds are fast and I filled half the card already (120 GB out of 256) before getting into trouble.

I mean I hope it's not fake, but the best way to tell is to use a program like H2testw to confirm.
 

Jellykrop

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
177
Country
United States
I mean I hope it's not fake, but the best way to tell is to use a program like H2testw to confirm.
Here are the test results:

Warning: Only 244203 of 244204 MByte tested.
Test finished without errors.
You can now delete the test files *.h2w or verify them again.
Writing speed: 17.3 MByte/s
Reading speed: 18.0 MByte/s
H2testw v1.4

Also I joined a screenshot of the tool I used to format my microSD to FAT32 (which I did after the test finished).
 

Attachments

  • FAT32 Format Screenshot.png
    FAT32 Format Screenshot.png
    24.4 KB · Views: 149
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes so i think i made the right choice
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there was also a sony with worse local dimming and the glow was really apparent
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is non linear anyway. 100 nits is about 50% of the peak output of a 10,000 nit display.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes" not in the games i play
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Not exactly 3D but the colors does pops out more
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    I just want a true dark mode theme
    for OLED Switch
    Gift
    mr_switch @ mr_switch: I just want a true dark mode theme for OLED Switch