Status
Not open for further replies.

Blaze163

The White Phoenix's purifying flame.
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Bought FF9 from PSN and it's giving me trouble on 5.50 Prometheus. Sound often doesn't kick in on intro vid and I get a black screen on the 3rd screen of the initial section as Vivi. Rather irritating.

I generally don't fiddle with the settings, but for this I'll make an exception. Any ideas what settings I should try tweaking to experiment with this issue? Driver type, disk load speed, etc? Which should I look at changing? I'm a newb at this.

Lily

One Scary Lady
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
The versions of FF8 and FF9 on PSN work perfectly fine on OFW 6.20, but exhibit odd problems under 5.50 GEN (or Prometheus in your case). You can tinker with popsloader and make your own FF8/FF9, but if you want to play the versions on PSN specifically, it's best that you're on OFW.

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Trophies
XP
Country
FFIX works fine on CFW though....well it worked fine for 5.00M33-6...no idea whether it's the Prometheus tinkering or GEN firmware that give the issues.

VIII is random on most firmwares though...

thedicemaster

Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
on 5.03prometheus no freezes/black screens yet.
and for the intro vid's to have audio: load disc 2 first.
sounds odd, but if you start a new game using disc 2 sound loads fine(at least, as long as you don't exit the game) even though it will still load everything from disc 1(it tells you to switch back)

Lily

One Scary Lady
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
xist said:
FFIX works fine on CFW though....well it worked fine for 5.00M33-6...no idea whether it's the Prometheus tinkering or GEN firmware that give the issues.

VIII is random on most firmwares though...

Yeah, the FFIX you make yourself works fine, but the PSN version seems to have some sort of fuckery going on that needs 6.xx.

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Trophies
XP
Country