FAT Error

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by TeddyPain, Feb 1, 2012.

Feb 1, 2012

FAT Error by TeddyPain at 2:49 AM (3,179 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. TeddyPain
    OP

    Member TeddyPain GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Waving to black people in the hood in my car.
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so I get FAT Error or 404 file not found on my ds screen whenever I try to play Kingdom Hearts, Pokemon White, Dragon Quest, and fossil fighters. I have played them before no problem but now they just have this error. I have searched it and asked quite a few people but I didn't get anything that helped me. I have tried reformatting my card and getting different roms but I still get the FAT Error.

    I have an Acekard2i with the latest firmware, 1.8.9
     
  2. LeRodeur

    Member LeRodeur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    France
    Your saves may be corrupted, have you tried copying it on hard disk and begin a new game? Test the saves on emulator too.
    Fat issues don't come from the games but your flashcart firmware can't open either the Rom or the save. Other games work well?
     
  3. TeddyPain
    OP

    Member TeddyPain GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Waving to black people in the hood in my car.
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, all my other games work well. It's just those few. Also it seems that TWEWY doesn't work either, was looking forward to finishing that... =/
     
  4. iSubaru

    Member iSubaru Kitsune

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Gensokyo
    Country:
    Poland
    Backup all data, reformat card (just not with Windows tool...) put data back and check
    also as LeRodeur says, check save on emulator (backup first)
    Hmmm...check also if it has proper size, for example EXACTLY 512 kB
     
  5. TeddyPain
    OP

    Member TeddyPain GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Waving to black people in the hood in my car.
    Country:
    United States
    None of this helped me, my games are still unplayable. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? If someone had Teamviewer, thard be nice.
     
  6. iSubaru

    Member iSubaru Kitsune

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Gensokyo
    Country:
    Poland
    How did You reformated card? I have today fixed Pokemon White on Acekard 2.1 with just proper formating card (aside from the fact that card itself was piece of...*cough* crap)
     
  7. Geren

    Member Geren GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    El Salvador
    This happened to me when I transfered games to my sd card through Linux. Then I didn't have any problems when using Windows for the same task. By any chance you are using a different OS?
     
  8. iSubaru

    Member iSubaru Kitsune

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Gensokyo
    Country:
    Poland
    This may happen because Linux sometimes - or in fact some distros - doesn't write files to target device at the second You order it but with delay, it's some kind of feature to make CPU less obligated or something...therefore You must order device to be unmounted by hand, then Linux will finish writing files and You are safe there
    It has advantages and disadventages, difficult to say if it's good or bad...
     
  9. TeddyPain
    OP

    Member TeddyPain GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Waving to black people in the hood in my car.
    Country:
    United States
    So uh, what do I gotta do?
     
  10. iSubaru

    Member iSubaru Kitsune

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Gensokyo
    Country:
    Poland
    First of all answer question :P
     
  11. TeddyPain
    OP

    Member TeddyPain GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Waving to black people in the hood in my car.
    Country:
    United States
    I backed up all of my games/savs/apps and right clicked removable disk and formatted it. Then I put the games back.
     
  12. iSubaru

    Member iSubaru Kitsune

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Gensokyo
    Country:
    Poland
    That's the Windows way...the slow one...

    SD Card Formatter

    Get this program and format to FAT16 with FULL format (of course backup data first)
     
  13. TeddyPain
    OP

    Member TeddyPain GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Waving to black people in the hood in my car.
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, thanks for clearing that up, and I will try that. But I must do FAT32 because I use a micro sdhc card.
     

Share This Page