Famicom Disk System Emulator?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Bidoofguy, Apr 9, 2009.

Apr 9, 2009

Famicom Disk System Emulator? by Bidoofguy at 8:26 PM (3,986 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Bidoofguy
    OP

    Newcomer Bidoofguy Custom Title:

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This might seem a stupid question, but is there any way to play FDS files on the DS? I want to play SMB2 (Lost Levels) but since NES DS doesn't support FDS files, it's pretty hard to do that. [​IMG]

    So anyway, is there any emulator that can FDS files, or is that one of those 'impossible' formats?
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HVCA on the GBA can do FDS, for what it is worth I rank HVCA up there with pocketnes in terms of getting stuff going (it is lacking in the nice features department).
    Read about it here:
    http://wiki.pocketheaven.com/Hvca

    However I am not sure where things sit with the DS (there are about 6 different nes emulators and various forks of them), I would like to think such a thing has not passed me by though.
     
  3. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    It's doable. But you'll probably have to use a GBA one for now, as FAST6191 suggests.

    Doesn't seem like emulator development on DS has been too active lately.
     
  4. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm happy to say that it has passed you by, FAST; NesterDS+ runs FDS ROMs. Of course, it also uses a software renderer, so we're talking some pretty large frameskip to get things running smoothly, but they do work. I've played a bit of Otocky and Doki Doki Panic without too much trouble. I haven't tried HVCA, does it use software or hardware rendering? If the latter, it probably runs smoother than NDS+, but with less screen real estate being used.
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Embarrassingly I think I posted news about that one (edit yes I did http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=87716 and even more embarrassingly I tried to find that post for my initial reply to this thread).
    I recall playing it though and while it was not as smooth as one of the specialist emulators games were playable (talespin in the screenshot is a fairly telling game).

    I think HVCA uses hardware although I recall it has a different scaling method to pocketnes which means text is a bit nicer for the games that need it (I used it for FF3 when I wanted to play it prior to the DS release and before I made a font hack which I since lost, it was only 10 minutes and a tile editor though).
     

Share This Page