Failed WiiKey installation

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by drfsupercenter, Aug 19, 2008.

Aug 19, 2008
  1. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,887
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I went over to a friend's house the other day, and watched while he tried to install a WiiKey. He tried soldering it directly to the motherboard, and all the contact points appeared to be soldered. However, putting in a burned DVD-ROM game still said the disc is incompatible. Luckily, it can still read original games. But now the WiiKey is stuck on the drive.

    If one of the connection points wasn't soldered completely, would it still be able to read original discs? The solder he used was rosin-core electrical solder... from what I read that's the best kind to use. I would upload a picture but I didn't bring my camera... He has menu 3.3U.

    Anyone have this happen? Or know what the problem might be? I told him to buy anti-solder brushes, but won't that break the WiiKey? I know nothing about soldering so I wasn't able to help... But he tried to re-solder a couple of the connections and it still won't read burned discs.
     
  2. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try a wiikey config disc.

    And make sure all the solder points are correctly done. If it still reads originals then nothing vital (wii side) has broken.
     
  3. samhush

    Newcomer samhush Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    This exact thing happened to me when I installed my WiiKey. When I reopened the Wii (should've tested before closing it back up, I know) it turns out that two of the solder connections where touching each other. I had to re-melt the solder and play with a little bit until they were no longer touching. Wasn't too bad and it worked fine after that. Good luck!
     
  4. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure it's even getting power? If soldering is that much of a struggle you & your friend probably can't figure out how to use a multimeter either. If you can, test every connection from the solder spot on the WiiKey to the leg of the chip the connections run to.

    Are you sure the WiiKey is compatible with the Wii you have?

    Find someone in your area who does installs and have them fix it. It will cost you far less than ruining your Wii.
     
  5. darkhawk

    Newcomer darkhawk Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    As Joey90 said try running the config disc or upgrade . If the install looks good(picture would help) then it could be the blank discs your using try buring at diffrent speeds or try using diffrent discs. When i installed my Wiikey it didnt read any disc had to upgrade to 1.9S after that it was fine.
     
  6. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use wire instead of soldering it straight to the board
     
  7. wiimodder69

    Newcomer wiimodder69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Canada
    also verify that you do not have the D2b chipset with cut legs.. It will not work if so....

    This is how it is done.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Also it is a good idea to blow everything out after working on it, it is very easy for solder bits and wire tailings to wedge themselves in areas they are not supposed to be...
     
  8. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,887
    Country:
    United States
    It's not D2B, it's the original chipset.

    I do know how to use multimeters, I could try that sometime. The WiiKey config disc also does not work... but isn't that CD-ROM and not DVD? It was burned to a CD since that's all Nero would allow.

    Next time I go over to my friend's house I can take my camera so I can get a good picture of it. So if the wires are touching each other, it won't break the Wii? I figured it would. Would using anti-solder brushes break the WiiKey?
     
  9. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Seriously, stop now and get a professional to do it. [​IMG]
     
  10. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Config disc is NOT a CD.... it's a Gamecube disc - ie miniDVD - ie 1.4gig. If you managed to squeeze it on to a CD, you've done something wrong - ie not extracted the archive first.
     
  11. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also stop using Nero. You should use Imgburn for all your Wii burning needs.
     
  12. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,887
    Country:
    United States
    *I* use ImgBurn, but at my friend's house all he had installed was Nero.

    What do you mean it's a GameCube image? It's like 3MB! Even when extracted! Did I get the wrong thing?

    How would I find a "professional"? I have a WiiKey myself too, and since my friend's got messed up I didn't do anything with it (I was going to have him try to install mine too, since he knows how to solder better than I do). I don't know if they have many WiiKey installers in the Detroit area...
     
  13. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Burn a config disc (on dvd only, wii will not read cd's)

    If you get a GC logo in the disc channel with the disc inserted then you know the chip is working.

    But if it errors while trying to run you will have to make a special config disc to set the settings, before you can run backups.
     

Share This Page