EZ Flash IV Battery Help?

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by Vetches, Jan 18, 2014.

1. Vetches
    OP

Vetches Member

Newcomer
    Jan 17, 2014
    United States
    Hey, there! I'm fairly new to the world of the EZ Flash, but I would like to know a bit more about it. Specifically, the battery the cartridge has. I've been reading other forums about how there's rechargeable ones, non-rechargeable ones, etc., but I still don't know the whole story. So, I was wondering a thing or two. Firstly, I've heard about a battery involved in this, how after a certain amount of time you have to do something in order to keep the cartridge running or something along those lines. Could this be explained a bit better in Layman's terms, or the basics? Secondly, also regarding the battery in a way. If the game that I run has a built-in save feature, i.e. able to save within the game without turning the game off, does that mean I can save the game without using the battery life? I only ask these questions because I am confused on what happens when the battery life runs out, and if there is a way to avoid it. Thanks so much in advance, and I hope to hear soon!

2. FAST6191

FAST6191 Techromancer

pip Reporter
    Nov 21, 2005
    I assume this is for the original EZ4, the various lite models will differ here but the logic is the same (replace like for like unless you can improve it and want to).

The earlier models of the EZ4 had a rechargeable battery. A panasonic VL2020.
    Later models dropped the rechargeable battery. Unknown reasons really, probably cost. CR2020 is the usual battery of choice.

At no point did the EZ4 (or anything before it) have proper recharge circuitry. To that end any ??2020 battery* that puts out 3V will do, you want one with tags on opposite sides though. Anybody that can claim to solder electronics should be able to replace it. You might be able to squeeze a slightly larger battery in there, though check before you order things online.