Extracting audio from .opp files?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Sakuyal, Nov 3, 2012.

Nov 3, 2012
  1. Sakuyal
    OP

Newcomer Sakuyal Newbie

United States
    First, hello all. I'm glad to see these forums back up and running, and appreciate all that you guys do here at gbatemp.

As for my question, I've been trying to extract the voice clips out of Tokimeki Memorial: Girl's Side 1st Love Plus.
    I'm 99% sure they're packed in a file called "voice.opp," since they're not in the .sdat file.
    However, I've searched everywhere, and I can't even find any mention of .opp files in DS Games.
    Does anyone here know of a way to extract the sound files from it? The programs I've seen that are normally used with audio, such as VGMTrans and Crystal Tile 2, don't work. It might be a custom format, but I have no idea where to start if so.

Forgive me if this is a simple question, but I have little experience in hacking/unpacking DS games.

Thanks!

2. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    Well I have never heard of the format before (and I do try to keep on top of such things- http://gbatemp.net/threads/the-various-audio-formats-of-the-ds.305167/ ).

Although there have been various tracker style audio formats before the size of the file and that you are looking for voices means these are more likely to be some form of (AD)PCM.

If that was not enough close to the start of the file
    COPYRIGHT="2007 KONAMI DIGITAL ENTERTAINMENT"
    artist="KONAMI DIGITAL ENTERTAINMENT"

As far as getting some pointers I have nothing from that file and the others in the directory do not look like they are pointers either (I had hoped ScheData.dat would be something, but there is not enough internal consistency to do anything useful).