1. Deleted_171835

    OP Deleted_171835 Newbie

    *Update* Ron mentioned that Sony have released official word on the matter. As they describe it the issue was a misinterpretation of the actual setup which appears to be a mix of traditional memory and a kind of virtual memory which is also available for access by the game. Further quotes on Eurogamer and the post itself.


    [​IMG]

    The most lauded part of the PS4 specs is the 8GB of GDDR5 RAM. While most people were expecting game developers to have access to 7GB of that RAM, it seems that the amount of memory reserved to devs is less than the Xbox One which offers 5GB to devs versus 4.5 on the PS4.

    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-ps3-system-software-memory
     
  2. marksteele

    marksteele GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    823
    Country:
    Canada
    rather ridiculous really. If they actually focused their consoles on GAMES, this wouldn't happen.
     
    calmwaters likes this.
  3. FireEmblemGuy

    FireEmblemGuy Celebrating a decade of shitposting
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,463
    Country:
    United States
    I can understand 1GB, maybe even two, but 3.5 seems rather excessive.
     
  4. Sterling

    Sterling GBAtemp's Silver Hero
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,023
    Country:
    United States
    Up to 5GB of RAM (with caveats) is still quite a bit compared to current generation consoles. I think OSes shouldn't be so big on game consoles though. Kind of stupid if you ask me.
     
  5. EzekielRage

    EzekielRage Hero of the Void
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    596
    Country:
    Australia
    To be expected, really. It is silly that an OS needs so much RAM but its nothing new...
     
  6. Gahars

    Gahars Bakayaro Banzai
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10,255
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the PS4 is supposed to be able to record and upload a whole lot of gameplay footage on the fly, so I'm guessing that's where the demand for RAM comes from.

    As far as RAM usage goes, 4.5-5.5 gb should be more than plenty for game developers. I mean, we've been dealing with 256-512 mb as a console standard for quite some time now, so no matter what, it's still a huge leap forward. There's no real need to complain about this RAM job.
     
    gamefan5, Kippykip, tronic307 and 3 others like this.
  7. ilman

    ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,128
    Country:
    Why would a console OS need so much RAM?
    The PS3 OS did a fine job and it fit with a game in 256MB of RAM. (correct me if I'm wrong)
     
  8. GameWinner

    GameWinner Take your heart
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,190
    Country:
    United States
    Probably to avoid the same problem with the PS3. IIRC the PS3 couldn't get features like cross game chat due to the ram (something they fixed with the Vita).
     
  9. kenenthk

    kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    702
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    Isn't this the same with PC games?
     
  10. trumpet-205

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Key highlights in PS4 are gameplay streaming and background downloading, so additional RAM are probably for these tasks.
     
  11. marksteele

    marksteele GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    823
    Country:
    Canada

    Not really. For one thing, windows 7 requires only 2GB (minimum ofc), and for another, you can actually upgrade your ram on a PC, can't on a console.
     
  12. kenenthk

    kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    702
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    All you need is a 8gbs of ram for gaming pcs, how many games out there take 3gbs of ram to run?
     
  13. emigre

    emigre i am a free i am not man a number
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    8,421
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    With XMB, you also have to wait for icons to load which to be honest is pretty fucking irritating.
     
  14. lokomelo

    lokomelo Edson Arantes do Nascimento
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Country:
    Brazil
    I thought that PS4 had 16gb... Anyway, X360 has 512mb GDDR3 I think and can do mult task so I doubt that PS4 would need 3.5gb GDDR5 for the system. Even that the news do not look like just a gossip, I think I dont believe it.
     
  15. Mantis41

    Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure why I feel let down by this. When I heard the console had 8GB I thought, wow 7GB for games which seemed to open up all sorts of possibilities for the future. Perhaps 4.5 is enough but is does lower my expectations somewhat.
     
  16. FireEmblemGuy

    FireEmblemGuy Celebrating a decade of shitposting
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,463
    Country:
    United States
    Technically, Windows 7 and 8 only require 1GB of RAM - although they state 2GB minimum for the 64-bit version, I have Windows 8 64-bit running at around 900MB of RAM at startup with Rainmeter, Core Temp and AutoHotKey running in the background. You need 1.5-2GB to actually do much of anything, sure, but you can run them on a gig or so.

    And that's what confuses me most about this news. The PS4 likely isn't aiming to run as complex an operating system as Windows; it'll likely be a more RAM-friendly, cut down Linux-based OS. The basics of it, even with the eye candy for menus and backgrounds, should not total out to even one gig of RAM. The premium features, such as background downloads and cross-chat and video recording, shouldn't take up a whole lot more than another GB, unless they're letting us record for a near-limitless amount of time, or record our voice chats as well, or something equally ridiculous. Reserving anything more than 2GB just seems wasteful to me.
     
  17. Snailface

    Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Country:
    Haha Sony fanboys, the honeymoon is OVER!
    No RamBytes = no Graphicks: PS4 Doomed!
    ^_^

    What is with these new consoles reserving 1/2 their RAM for the OS?
    Just to swap in and out between game and OS is not a good enough reason imo.
     
    Costello, Duo8 and yuyuyup like this.
  18. marksteele

    marksteele GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    823
    Country:
    Canada

    mmm my assumption was that consoles run 64 bit architecture.
     
  19. Osha

    Osha Weh
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    692
    Country:
    France
    Wow, big deal... It's not like games require that much ram to begin with, seriously.
     
  20. Snailface

    Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Country:
    Streaming open worlds would like to have a word with you.
     
  21. grossaffe

    grossaffe GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,011
    Country:
    United States
    The more consoles try to do outside of gaming, the more they lose their advantage of getting the most out of their hardware for games versus PC.
     
  22. Qtis

    Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,817
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm a bit surprised, but then again, quite a few games on the PC side can run on a lot less RAM than 4.5 GB. The OS and other stuff such as anti-virus software take up RAM quite fast when running alongside the games. The video recording does seem to take a lot, but we'll see how this ends up in the future. It's not like they couldn't release more RAM after the OS optimizes a bit more.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - developers, guaranteed, Eurogamer