Emulators for DS that DO NOT require SLOT2 expansion?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by wohdin, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. wohdin
    OP

    Newcomer wohdin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    see title

    it seems like every emulator out there requires a SLOT2 memory expansion cart, and since there's obviously no such thing on DSi/3DS this is kind of a problem. Mainly NES and SNES are what I'm wanting, but anything else would be awesome as well.
     
  2. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    Easiest solution is a DStwo kart. It has a second processor onboard that allows the extra power for most SNES and GBA games.
     
  3. SickPuppy

    Member SickPuppy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Country:
    United States
    What needs a slot 2 except gba games? It seems that the rest of them (nes and snes) will work with slot 1. The DStwo gba emulator is not perfect, as it goes for nes and snes, other flashcarts will do fine. But, the PSP handles nes and snes fine, better than the NDS in my opinion.

    you should be able to find slot one emulators at filetrip.
    http://filetrip.net/nds-downloads/emulators/emulators-for-nds/
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    Im pretty sure SNES needs slot two because of all the "cheating" Nintendo did with the SNES cartridges.
     
  5. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    There aren't many emulators that require the extra ram. There's quake 2, Linux, and hmmz... Can't think of others. Snemulds, Quake 1, and NeoDS support it but don't require it. I never noticed a difference with it on Snemul.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the only things i can recall that *require* slot-2 ram expansion are quake2, the j build of scummvmds, and dslinux. neods and snemulds can benefit from slot-2 devices but they are not required. with neods it did some sprite caching and with snemulds it was used for paging with large rom files.

    seems like the poster is making a lot of assumptions without putting any time into research and actual testing.

    -another world
     
  7. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    I thought that's what we do here though ;)
     
  8. 2ndApex

    Member 2ndApex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Country:
    United States
    This suddenly reminded of how amazing a DSTWO port of NeoDS would be. Curse you.
     
  9. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    Not all of them even need slot-2 expansion. Lameboy and nesDS come to mind instantly. So does jenesisDS.
     
  10. wohdin
    OP

    Newcomer wohdin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    It seems like the last time I checked up on DS brew, almost everything I tried wouldn't run any games just from slot1. But that was kind of forever ago.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If you were looking into GBA, that might have been it.
     
  12. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The SNES emulators used to be mostly slot-2 only, but that was years ago. The only ones that require slot-2 nowadays have already been mentioned in this thread, so go ahead and use things like SNEmulDS, NES DS, Lameboy, jEnesisDS, all that good stuff.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page