EDGE vs Acekard2

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Tybalt1212, Jan 27, 2009.

Jan 27, 2009

EDGE vs Acekard2 by Tybalt1212 at 12:55 AM (1,878 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Tybalt1212
    OP

    Newcomer Tybalt1212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Canada
    I was just wondering which I should get. I've narrowed it down to one of two sites (it really depends on whether or not a certain one gets them back in stock soon enough) so the maximum cost difference is $8 CDN, with the Acekard2 costing less. Browsing the forums, there are some hardcore Acekard2-with-Akaio loyalists, but there also seem to be more problems with the Acekard2. Can anyone give me a reason to choose one over the other? Thanks a million!
     
  2. Sharpz

    Member Sharpz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    L.A California
    Country:
    United States
    NVM!!I misread the title.Woopy Daisy. [​IMG]
    but still...Get an AK2
     
  3. taken

    Member taken GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I rather the Edge card the firmware up to date runs games great.

    But the Cyclo ds evo is the best card at the moment with extra's, But it is dear.
    An Edge card is the cheap but great card.
     
  4. fedgerama

    Newcomer fedgerama Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I personally have an Acekard2. I've had it for a few months and haven't had any problems. There was 1 game (out of about 50) that didn't work with the older versions of AKAIO, but with the new v1.3, there hasn't been a single game I can't run. The build quality of my Acekard isn't the best (it's really not as bad as people say though. as long as you don't throw it on the ground or rip off all of the hooks, its not coming apart), but many people have reported that the newer ones have better build quality, including being glued together. I've heard that alot of people have trouble with the EDGE cards, hardware and software wise (someone got a mislabeled Acekard o.O). Overall, you really never see anyone complaining about the game compatibility on the Acekard, and it will last you a long time if you don't physically abuse it. Plus, the extra money can go towards a bigger MicroSD card.
     
  5. taken

    Member taken GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only trouble i had with the Edge was star wars clone wars wasn't working.
    until the firmware been updated that's about it.
     
  6. ball2012003

    ball2012003 Newbie

    i say go with the acekard 2
     
  7. Anakir

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    I have both. Go for the AK2 just for the sake of cheaper price on DX. The GUI for AK2 is a lot more customizable than the Edge if that matters. But in the end, it doesn't really matter.
     
  8. ShAdOwFuRi

    Member ShAdOwFuRi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Australia
    Choose Acekard2 simply because of AKAIO.
     
  9. Tybalt1212
    OP

    Newcomer Tybalt1212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, everyone. I think I will go with the AK2 now.
     
  10. Advi

    Member Advi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure glad I didn't cancel my order for my Acekard...........LOLOLOLOLOLOL
     
  11. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I personally have an acekard2, but I like to fiddle with stuff. if all you want is piracy the EDGE has more reliable compatibility
     
  12. Tybalt1212
    OP

    Newcomer Tybalt1212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Canada
    I've since realized there's a massive thread I should have posted in. If a mod could get rid of this, that would be great. Thanks.
     
  13. luan87us

    Newcomer luan87us Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I have an acekard2.1 and I am more than pleased with it. I haven't encounter running any game I wanted to play yet. And running it with AKAIO makes it alot better as well. My NDSL battery seems to last forever with 2nd brightest setting. Because I couldn't bear the wait from DX I ordered from US supplier which cost me twice as much but arrived in 2 days. I'm sure you'll be happy with your AK2 purchase =D
     
  14. Advi

    Member Advi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    So did I. DealWoot isn't very cheap.

    HOORAY FOR IMPATIENCE!!!!!!!!! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page