DVD burning program

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by ShadowSoldier, Jan 6, 2011.

Jan 6, 2011

DVD burning program by ShadowSoldier at 9:14 PM (1,948 Views / 0 Likes) 29 replies

  1. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    So recently I've gotten into downloading lots of movies, and a lot of them are 720p, and my computer can play them, depending on if the computer is busy really. But if there's a lot of things on screen, it lags. So I'm going to burn them to dvd-rw's and play them on our DVD player on our big screen which can go 1080p I think.. but eh.

    The thing is though I can't find good programs to use. I need something that has a torrent available [no links please], and something that doesn't suck and take up resources like Nero. And yes, I've tried Nero, and I've also tried Aimersoft but that won't install for some fucked up reason.

    So give me names of good ones that I can use please. And no Xilisoft either.

    I should also point out that the movies I'm burning [right now Back to the Future Trilogy] is .mp4's.
     


  2. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Vuze has got a dvd burner built in, haven't tried it because I didn't have DVD burner when I was using it on my old pc.
     
  3. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    I use imgburn.
    Not sure if you've tried it yet.
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    your going to need a dvd upscale player
     
  5. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    A what? I basically want the 720p videos I downloaded, to be 720p on the TV...
     
  6. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dvd flick is pretty much likke nero making movies with the option to do dvd menus if you want.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    DVD Flick.

    DVD doesn't do 720P. Max size of the vertical signal component for the DVD-Video format is 576.

    That's why HD DVD and Blu-Ray came out, they have higher birates and can transfer larger resolutions than DVD can.
     
  8. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Weak, so there's actually no way to take advantage of the movie being 720p?
     
  9. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need a dvd play whuch do upscaling. either burn to blue ray or play on pc
     
  10. Stevetry

    Banned Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    iw would like a fast dvd making software that let me ad menus and shit need to burn my hitomi takanakamovies
     
  11. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,234
    Country:
    United States
    you need some media player that will play them the way they are converting will destroy the quality
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No, it can't play 720P.

    Upscaling can make the video look a little better, but meh.
     
  13. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Well this sucks, there's no real reason to burn my movies...
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Try one and see if it's okay.
     
  15. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Christ, DVD Flick is so bloody slow. I still need a program, what about ImgBurn, that any good?
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's slow because it has to re-encode the DVD into the proper format. Any program you use will have to re-encode it. If you use SUPER or something else, tell it to convert to the DVD format (VOB container).

    Welcome to the world of video. Get used to converting shit.
     
  17. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Balls. I don't remember having to do this before years ago. But it was like.. 45 minutes, and it was only 19% done :/ that normal?
     
  18. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Balls. I don't remember having to do this before years ago. But it was like.. 45 minutes, and it was only 19% done :/ that normal?
     
  19. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Don't convert anything because you're killing the quality. [​IMG]
    If you want to backup your movies to DVD-/+R just do it as data.
    Your HDTV has a HDMI port and/or VGA port.
    Just connect your laptop/desktop to it and switch the video signal to the HDTV.
     
  20. ShadowSoldier
    OP

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't have a cord dude. I would need a ridiculously long cord.
     

Share This Page